HWA Announces Young Adults Write Now Winners

By: Horror Writers Association
Spread the Word
Listed Under



Los Angeles - California - US


LOS ANGELES - March 1, 2019 - PRLog -- The Horror Writers Association (HWA), the premier organization of writers and publishers of horror and dark fantasy and home of the iconic Bram Stoker Awards®, proudly announces this year's recipient of the Young Adults Write Now endowment.

The Librarian Association of Rockland County Teen Division (Spring Valley, NY), will receive $500 to fund their annual teen writing program (SCRAWL: Rockland Teens Write). "We are pleased to present the 2018 endowment to Rockland County," said HWA President Lisa Morton. "Public libraries expanding genre fiction programs is an exciting development in HWA's commitment to the field."

Young Adults Write Now is part of the HWA's on-going commitment to furthering young adult literacy, and it is open to all school and public libraries. Each year, the HWA provides up to five endowments of $500 each for selected libraries to establish or continue genre-focused writing programs for teens. Membership in the HWA is not a requirement.

Applications for 2019 will open June 1, 2019 and run until Dec. 31st. The Young Adults Write Now program will again provide up to five endowments of $500 each per year for selected libraries to establish new or support ongoing genre-focused writing programs. The program is currently open to United States libraries, but it will be expanded in the future to include other countries, as part of the HWA's global presence.

For more information and the complete set of program rules, visit http://horrorscholarships.com/young-adults-write-now-endowment-program/ or contact libraries@horror.org

The HWA is a nonprofit organization of writers and publishing professionals around the world, dedicated to promoting dark literature and the interests of those who write it. The HWA formed in 1985 with the help of many of the field's greats, including Dean Koontz, Robert McCammon, and Joe Lansdale. Today, with over 1,500 members around the globe, it is the oldest and most respected professional organization for the much-loved writers who have brought you the most enjoyable sleepless nights of your life. The Horror Writers Association is the home of the prestigious Bram Stoker Award® and the creator of the annual StokerCon™ convention.

John W. Dennehy, Communications Director
Horror Writers Associaiton
Email:***@johnwdennehy.com Email Verified
Location:Los Angeles - California - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Horror Writers Assoc PRs
Trending News
Most Viewed
Top Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share