INACSL Announces Three Recipients for this Year's 2019 Debra Spunt Research Grants

Grant-giving program supports members who seek to advance innovative excellence in simulation education through scientific research and discovery
Spread the Word
Listed Under

* Simulation

* Non-profit

* Raleigh - North Carolina - US

* Awards

RALEIGH, N.C. - Feb. 20, 2019 - PRLog -- The International Nursing Association for Clinical Simulation and Learning (INACSL), an organization that promotes research and standards for clinical simulation methodologies and learning environments, announces the winners of its 2019 Debra Spunt Research Grants. Three recipients were honored with the award:

Chamberlain Award - $10,000 • Jennifer Ross, PhD, RN, CNE, Assistant Professor, M. Louise Fitzpatrick College of Nursing at Villanova University: "The Use of Standardized Participants as Healthcare Providers in a Curricular Integration of TeamSTEPPS Training into an Undergraduate Nursing Curriculum"

Laerdal Award - $1,000 • Katie McDermott, RN, MSN, CPNP-AC, Pediatric Nurse Practitioner, Acute Care, Medical College of Wisconsin: "Critical Care Pediatric Nurse Practitioner as Rapid Response Team Leader: Using Simulation-based Education to Close a Cultural Gap"

Laerdal Award - $1,000 • Heiddy DiGregorio, MSN, APRN, PCNS-BC, CHSE, CNE, Director of Simulation, University of Delaware College of Health Sciences, and Villanova University, PhD in Nursing Education: "Organizational Skill Development Using Simultaneous Multiple Patient Simulation"

"INACSL is committed to funding research that aligns with its standards of best practices in nursing education by supporting those who wish to follow in Dr. Spunt's footsteps," said INACSL President, Bette Mariani, PhD, RN, ANEF. "I am proud to announce the 2019 award recipients, each of whom aligned their research with the INACSL Standards of Best Practice in SimulationSM to further influence change within the education curricula, and to improve patient safety and care."

Each year, INACSL commemorates the exceptional contributions of Debra L. Spunt, DNP, RN, FAAN in nursing education through the grant-giving program founded in her honor. She was a pioneer in clinical simulation, and a champion of innovation and research to advance the science of simulation. As cofounder of INACSL and its first president, Dr. Spunt's mission was to facilitate change within nursing to move the profession and simulation forward.

Dr. Spunt also participated in the landmark, 2003 National League for Nursing/Laerdal study, "Designing and Implementing Models for the Innovative Use of Simulation to Teach Nursing Care of Ill Adults and Children: A National, Multi-site, Multi-method Study." The Debra Spunt Research Grants are made possible by funding from Laerdal Medical and Chamberlain University.

About the International Nursing Association for Clinical Simulation & Learning (INACSL) The International Nursing Association for Clinical Simulation and Learning (INACSL) is committed to advancing the science of healthcare simulation. As part of our vision to become the global leader in transforming practice to improve patient safety through excellence in healthcare simulation, we equip members with the latest research and educational strategies to further impact learning outcomes, and enhance patient health across the continuum of care. INACSL also provides the INACSL Standards of Best Practice: SimulationSM, an evidence-based framework to guide simulation design, implementation, debriefing, evaluation and research. INACSL represents over 1,800 members from 29 countries. Learn more at and follow us on LinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter.

Jalene Bowersmith
Email:*** Email Verified
Location:Raleigh - North Carolina - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share