WIRED by Award-winning YA Author Caytlyn Brooke Addresses Technology Addiction

The dangers of smart phone and social media addiction are explored in this dark and compelling new YA novel.
 
 
WIRED by Caytlyn Brooke
WIRED by Caytlyn Brooke
 
Spread the Word
Listed Under

Tags:
ya
Social Media
Addiction

Industry:
Books

Location:
Livonia - Michigan - US

LIVONIA, Mich. - July 14, 2018 - PRLog -- WIRED is a timely novel blending futuristic technology with the dangers of social media addiction. With the cultural shift to social media attachment and smartphone dependency, WIRED asks the question: What happens if we introduce virtual reality technology and literally plug a smartphone device into the brain of the user to amp up the experience? What results is a chilling and dangerous addiction that can become all-consuming.

"How often do you look at your phone? Do you bring it to the table? Do you sleep with it? Have you ever turned it off? Technology has been evolving for the past twenty years, and until recently, it was simply an easier way to communicate," says YA author Caytlyn Brooke.

"Now everything has drastically changed. Almost everyone has a phone and almost everyone uses social media apps such as Facebook, Twitter and Snapchat to send updates of how they're feeling, what they're eating, and where they are. The immediate gratification we receive when someone likes or interacts with our posts can make us feel empowered and accepted in a way that face-to-face conversations don't seem to satisfy anymore. This preference for a virtual society is what prompted me to write WIRED," Ms. Brooke continued.

In WIRED, the temptation of endless travel, breathtaking views, and instant gratification is too good to be true, and Maggie Stone can't get enough of this amazing technology. But when she begins to favor this virtual world over reality, her perfectly built life is plunged into chaos.

Advance Praise for WIRED:

"…a frighteningly believable story set in the not-too-distant future…a fast-paced, imaginative, and compelling story." —Foreword Reviews Magazine

"A masterful tale about how easily addiction can take over even the most successful life and destroy it…so well done readers will not be able to put this book down or forget this story anytime soon." —InD'Tale Magazine

WIRED is published by BHC Press and will appeal to fans of CRANK and GO ASK ALICE. Available in hardcover (978-1-946848-58-1, 320 pp, $25.95), trade softcover (978-1-947727-53-3, 320 pp, $15.95), and ebook (978-1-947727-54-0, $7.99) at all major booksellers.

About Caytlyn Brooke: Caytlyn resides in Elmira, NY with her family and orange tabby cat, who is only slightly overweight. She can quote any Disney movie and believes that everyone should wear polka dots. Her debut YA horror novel, DARK FLOWERS, has earned several awards, including Moonbeam and Literary Classics.

About BHC Press: BHC Press is an award-winning independent publisher of general fiction and nonfiction hardcover, softcover, and ebooks for YA and adults. To learn more about Caytlyn Brooke and BHC Press, visit http://www.bhcpress.com/

Contact
BHC Press
***@bhcpress.com
End
Email:***@bhcpress.com Email Verified
Tags:ya, Social Media, Addiction
Industry:Books
Location:Livonia - Michigan - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
BHC Press PRs
Trending News
Most Viewed
Top Daily News



Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share