Winners Of The 2016 72 Hour Shootout Announced!

The Film Lab announced the top films of the 2016 72 Hour Shootout: Lose The Labels on June 23, 2016, at a red carpet premiere at the 39th Annual Asian American International Film Festival
By: Film Lab
MANHATTAN, N.Y. - July 25, 2016 - PRLog -- The top ten films of the Film Lab's 12th annual 72 Hour Shootout filmmaking competition (the "Shootout"), themed "Lose the Labels," premiered on July 23, 2016, at The Asian American International Film Festival.  The films showcase new and emerging writers, directors, producers, and actors of color, with a focus on Asian Americans.

The GRAND PRIZE winner of the 2016 72 Hour Shootout is Girard Tecson of Team Dayside Productions, for his film "The Model Minority Program." []

The second runner up to the Grand Prize is Shubhra Prakash of Team Random Fox, for her film, "Vanilla."  []

The first runner up to the Grand Prize is Tony Ho Loke of Team ColorTV for his film "Wired."  []

The remaining Top Ten film teams and filmmakers of the 2016 72 Hour Shootout:

Team Living in the Meow - Lava Buckley-Sheets
J-Dub Squad - John Wu
The M.F.A.'s - Edmund Kwan
3 Dudes and a Camera - Steven Chan
Present Lee - Lee Hubilla
Struggling Cutie - Christina YR Jun
Nascent Productions - Micah Stinson
Two Mutts - Sean MacLaughlin

The Individual Award Category Winners:
The winner of the Most Original Use of Theme went to Team Living in the Meow, led by Lava Sheets for the film, "Call Me Mary."
The winner of Best Screenwriting went to RAIN NOE for Team ColorTV, led by team captain Tony Ho Loke for "Wired" with Special Jury Prize for Screenwriting to Raghu Rayadurg and Kabir Chopra from Team Vanilla!
The Award for Best Direction went to  CHARLES OUDA & ROBERT LENG (co-directors) for Team 41 Granite's "Who Are You?" led by team captain: Robert Leng.
The award for Best Cinematography went to  HIDEKI SHIOTA of Nascent Productions, led by team captain:  Micah Stinson for the film "This is Not the Truth."
The award for Best Actor, who won a mentorship from NBC, among other things, went to  PATRICK JAMES WALSH of Team Asya, led by Burak Tatar in the film "Insular".
The award for Best Actress went to  KIMBERLY PARK of Team Soy Sauce Chicken led by team captain Eddie Shieh.

The Top 40 Shootout films will roll out on Film Lab's channel, AAFL TV, available at and will also be shared on and will be televised in the series, "Film Lab Presents," on CrossingsTV (Time Warner Cable, Xfinity).  The Top 40 films (listed in alphabetical order, not by rank) are:

Self Help DTX Pictures
Insular ASYA
Yellow Mellow Citrus Fruit Team
Wired  Color TV
Win or Lose  The Giraffes
Who Are You?  41Granite
VitaMyBita  Sparklers
This is Not the Truth  Nascent Productions
The Talk/The Walk?  Ursa Major
The System  Raw Milk
The Spectrum  Two Mutts
The Model Minority Program  Team Dayside
The Interview  3 Dudes and a Camera
The Grand Game  Koherent View
Sway  Sway Team
Submerged  Mask-Off
Scorpion  The M.F.A.'s
Pineapple Sunset  Make Do Productions
Perfect Nothing  SOY SAUCE CHICKEN
Perceptions  Team Diamondback
Now That You're Gone  Third Curtain
New Canvas  Crazy Mane
Liao & Lilly  Liberty Production
Labels, Damn  Mad Fresh Daily
Kung Pao Chicken  STR
Jorey  JDub Squad
Jellyfish Jake  Noble Fountain Productions & Cool Genius Entertainment
In Between Days  You and Me
Ghost Town  Lessons in Sonar
Four Women Looking  Ladies' Knight
Day Off  Lucky Planet 5
Claim Form  Inspirasian
Call Me Mary  Team Living in the Meow
Boxed Out  Struggling Cutie
Banana to Papaya  Being US
Almond Milk  Present Lee
5 Questions  The Weekend Collective
3 Chords and the Truth  Team Eezus

The premiere screener was edited by Jodi Lin. Cici Chu wrote and directed the 2016 Shootout theme film, "Lose the Labels," which is available on AAFL TV and, and is also currently airing on CrossingsTV, Time Warner Cable and Xfinity.  "Lose the Labels" explores the labels society places on people and what they choose to do about them.

About the 72 Hour Shootout

The Shootout is a worldwide filmmaking competition celebrating gender and ethnic diversity in film in which filmmaking teams are given this common theme at the start and have 72 hours to write, shoot, edit, and complete short films up to five minutes in length. The films celebrate diversity and the filmmaking teams compete for industry mentorships, cash, prizes, and exhibitions ranging from the prestigious Asian American International Film Festival, the only festival of its kind on the East Coast, to CrossingsTV, AAFL TV and other exhibition venues.  Film Lab is led by a Board including Jennifer Betit Yen, Aaron Woolfolk, James Kyson, Daryl King, and Chloe Jenkins.

The Shootout creates opportunities for filmmakers of color and women, with a focus on Asian Americans, to demonstrate their talent, gain exposure in the entertainment industry and create positive significant impact on the visibility of Asian and Asian American and other diverse stories and characters in film and television.  One of the Shootout requirements is that at least one key production member (e.g., director, producer or writer) and a principal actor from each team must be of Asian descent.

More information at ( and

Film Lab, Inc.
Source:Film Lab
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Premiere, Screening, Festival
Location:Manhattan - New York - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share