[Webinar] European Timber Regulations - Obligations for Companies

This webinar will allow attendees to understand the requirements for applying due diligence. The webinar will also provide information on how companies can be supported on the due diligence process.
By: SGS S.A
 
 
Spread the Word
Listed Under

Tags:
* EUTR
* Due Diligence
* Timber

Industry:
* Agriculture

Location:
* Philippines

Jan. 25, 2016 - PRLog -- The objective of this webinar is to provide attendees with information about the European Union Timber Regulation. It will focus on the requirements for companies that place timber products on the market and are expected to apply due diligence to their products.

AGENDA:

• Purpose and history of the EU Timber Regulation
• Terms and definitions
• The due diligence system requirements
• Supporting the implementation of an EUTR due diligence system

BACKGROUND
The European Union has recognized that the trade in illegal timber and timber products is a grave problem of international concern, as it contributes to deforestation, global CO2 emissions and loss of biodiversity. Additionally, it undermines attempts at moving towards more sustainable forest management practices and good forestry governance.

Regulation 995/2010 is a law that addresses the issue of illegal logging and the associated trade in timber products, and it will apply across all 27 European Union member states from March 3, 2013. The regulation lays down the legal obligations for individuals and organisations that place timber and timber products on the European market. This includes obligations to implement a due diligence system that can be used to gather information about the origin of the product being supplied, assessments of the risk of that product originating from an illegal source, and mitigation of the risk of illegally harvested timber from entering the supply chain. The purpose of the complimentary webinar is to provide attendees with information about the regulation with specific focus on the requirements for due diligence system.

PRESENTER
Christian Kobel
– SGS Global Operational Manager Forestry, Timber & Paper

TARGET AUDIENCE

• Individuals or organizations involved with the supply and trade of timber, paper and packaging products
• Operators: Individuals or organizations responsible for placing timber on the European market
• Traders: Individuals or organizations that purchase and/or sell timber products, but do not take responsibility for first placement on the market


February 23, 2016

Register for Session 1 (https://sgseventcenter.webex.com/sgseventcenter/onstage/g...)
9:00 am London (GMT Summer Time)
10:00 am Paris, Berlin, Madrid, Amsterdam (Europe Summer Time)
6:30 pm Darwin (Australia Central Time)
5:00 pm Singapore, Kuala Lumpur (Singapore Time)

Register for Session 2 (https://sgseventcenter.webex.com/sgseventcenter/onstage/g...)
2:00 pm London (GMT Summer Time)
3:00 pm Paris, Berlin, Madrid, Amsterdam (Europe Summer Time)
9:00 am New York (Eastern Daylight Time)
11:00 am Brazil (S. America Eastern Standard Time)

Language: English
Cost: No Charge

For further information, please contact:

Jennifer Ico
SGS
Certification and Business Enhancement
Global Marketing Services
t: +63 2 848 0777 loc. 8772

http://www.sgs.com/en/Our-Company/Events/2016/02/European-Timber-Regulations-Obligations-for-Companies.aspx

Contact
SGS S.A
***@sgs.com
End
Email:***@sgs.com Email Verified
Tags:EUTR, Due Diligence, Timber
Industry:Agriculture
Location:Philippines
Account Email Address Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
SGS Services News
Trending
Most Viewed
Daily News



Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share