The Winners of Film Lab's 11th Annual 72 Hour Shootout Announced!

The winning filmmakers of the 11th annual 72 Hour Shootout premiered to a sold out theatre at the Asian American International Film Festival.
72 Hour Shootout Premiere  © 2015
72 Hour Shootout Premiere © 2015
NEW YORK - July 25, 2015 - PRLog -- The Asian American Film Lab ("Film Lab") announced the top ten winning films of the 11th annual 72 Hour Shootout ("Shootout") – TWO FACES - filmmaking competition to a packed theatre at the Asian American International Film Festival this afternoon.  Film Lab President, actor Jennifer Betit Yen, and Shootout Coordinator, videographer and vocalist Youn Kim, started off the premiere with thanks to the 2015 filmmakers and sponsors for "fighting inequality through creativity; promoting gender and ethnic diversity through entertainment and challenging mainstream constructions of race, gender and sexuality."  The premiere was followed by a red carpet awards ceremony, where Christopher Lee of Adorama, Matthew Salinas of aLanguage Bank and Blue Michael of Blue Michael Cosmetics presented awards to the winning filmmakers.  Other sponsors and donors were on hand at the wrap party, where the wine, Tiger beer and other drinks flowed and guests enjoyed an organic medley of finger foods and cake from the Chinatown Ice Cream Factory.  The wrap party also included silent auctions, raffles, giveaways, and a rousing live musical performance by Ben Barson, followed by DJ Eun Woo.

The award winners of the 2015 72 Hour Shootout:

My Two Faces by "Inspirasian" (Top Ten Film; Most Original Use of Theme)

Bare by "Chomp Productions" (Top Ten Film)

A Case of Mistaken Identities by "Dayside Productions" (Top Ten Film)

Finding You by "The Perfect Asian Pair" (Top Ten Film; Best Actor, Grant Chang; Best Director, Grant Chang)

Funny Faces by "Random Fox Productions" (Top Ten Film)

Hide and Seek by "GK Films" (Top Ten Film)

Rest Stop by "DTX Pictures" (Top Ten Film)

The Other Woman by "Tiny Giants" (Top Ten Film)

One Lunch by "RAWMIX Productions" (Top Ten Film; Best Writer, Rommel Andaya)

Boxer by "The MFA's" (Top Ten Film; Grand Prize Winner; Best Actress; and Best Action Film, Toy Lei)

Shattered Beauty by "Team Spirited" (Snigdha Kappor, Best Cinematographer)

The top 40 72 Hour Shootout films will be available on the Film Lab's online channel AAFLTV (subscribe for free at and many will also be featured on the Film Lab's TV series, "Film Lab Presents."  The Shootout is a worldwide filmmaking competition celebrating gender and ethnic diversity in film in which filmmaking teams are given a common theme at the start and have 72 hours to write, shoot, edit, and complete short films up to five minutes in length. Teams promote gender and ethnic diversity in media and compete for cash and prizes and the chance to have their films screened at the prestigious Asian American International Film Festival, the only festival of its kind on the East Coast, as well as at the Asians on Film Festival in Los Angeles, California.  Judges include Emmy nominated director Rodrigo Garcia, ABC Executive Director of Casting Marci Phillips, playwright David Henry Hwang, agent David Elliott, stuntman Lane Leavitt, and director Bertha Bay-Sa Pan.  Several of the judges were in attendance at the premiere and awards ceremony and judges David Henry Hwang and Bertha Bay-Sa Pan, who could not appear in person, gave remarks via video and congratulated the filmmakers.

Sponsors include Adorama, Blue Michael Cosmetics, aLanguage Bank, Executive Wear NY, MyJennyBook, and many others.  The speeches of both women will be available on AAFLTV at and on the Film Lab website at, along with a complete list of Shootout sponsors.

About the Film Lab

The Film Lab is a non-profit 501(c)(3) that promotes ethnic and gender diversity through outreach, education and production.  The Film Lab provides free or low cost programming ranging from screenwriting workshops to panels to seminars to screenings.  The Film Lab produces the television series "Film Lab Presents" and a wide variety of online content on AAFL TV. The Film Lab management team consists of Jennifer Betit Yen (President and Board Member, founder of AAFL TV Production Arm), Huseina Sulaimanee (Treasurer and Volunteer), Daryl King (Secretary and Board Member), Cecilia Mejia (Unfinished Works), Youn Kim (2015 72 Hour Shootout Coordinator), Nick Sakai (Industry Spotlight), along with a dedicated Board, interns and event volunteers. Board members include James Kyson, Ed Wong and Aaron Woolfolk, among others.

Youn Jung Kim
Source: » Follow
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Diversity, Premiere, Film Festival
Location:New York City - New York - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Page Updated Last on: Jul 27, 2016
Asian American Film Lab Inc. News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share