Outstanding Contributions and New Board Members Celebrated at Annual Symposium

Over 700 attendees came together for professional development and to share ideas and information on military voluntary educational programs.
ANAHEIM, Calif. - Feb. 19, 2015 - PRLog -- While enjoying a respite from the wintery weather gripping most of the country, members of the Council of College and Military Educators (CCME) recently came together during the 2015 Annual Symposium. In addition to several professional development tracks, and discussing educational programs, initiatives and support for service members, veterans and spouses, CCME conducted its annual board elections and recognized several dedicated members for their continued contributions.

During the business meeting portion of the symposium, members heard from the candidates for secretary, vice president, and president-elect. These three positions will lead the CCME board starting in 2016. Following the election, the members voted in were:

•Janice Neal, Regional Director, Western Military Campuses and Director/Los Angeles Air Force Base Campus for Webster University, secretary-elect.

•James (Jim) Cronin, Vice President, Office of Military Partnerships for University of Maryland University College, vice president-elect.

•Francisco (Franc) Lopez, Military Liaison for Columbia Southern University, president-elect

On Tuesday, following an outstanding keynote presentation by noted speaker Stedman Graham, and an update on Department of Defense Voluntary Education by Chief of DOD VolEd, Dawn Bilodeau, CCME handed out its annual awards. These were awarded by CCME President Jim Yeonopolus, President of Continental and International Operations for Central Texas College, to recognize outstanding contributions and accomplishments of its members. This year’s recipients were:

•John Brian Service and Leadership Award – Outstanding service to the voluntary education community by a government employee – Rosalee “Sally” Lambert, US Navy

•William E. Kennedy Award – Outstanding dedication and leadership in the delivery of quality programs to military installations and/or individuals – James McDonough, Syracuse University

•Barry Cobb Government Organization Award – Recognizes the outstanding contributions that government entities make to military education – MCB Camp Pendelton

•CCME Institution Award – Presented to a higher education institution in recognition of its significant contributions to the cause of military education – Kansas State University

•CCME Corporate Award – Presented to an organization in recognition of its significant contributions to the cause of military education – Military Advanced Education (MAE)

•Lifetime Achievement Award – Jim Sweizer, American Military University

•President’s Award – Recognizes significant contributions from any sector that has advanced the cause of military education – Carolyn Baker, former Chief of DoD Voluntary Education

On Thursday evening, a change in leadership occurred as the new CCME board leaders officially stepped into their positions. The board leadership for 2015 is:

•Dr. Jeffrey (Jeff) Cropsey, Vice President for Strategic Initiatives and External Relations for Grantham University, president

•Lane Huber, Chief Distance Learning & Military Affairs Officer for Bismarck State College, vice president

•Janine Wert, Director of Veteran Services, University of Massachusetts, secretary

Congratulations to the new CCME board members, and this year’s award recipients. Next year’s annual symposium will be held in San Antonio, TX. To learn more about CCME, please visit http://ccmeonline.org.

Media Contact
Gary D. Harrah
Source: » Follow
Email:***@ccmeonline.org Email Verified
Tags:Ccme, Military Education
Industry:Defense, Education
Location:Anaheim - California - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Council of College and Military Educators News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share