FutureCycle Press Publishes Four New Poetry Titles

New from FutureCycle Press are All These Restless Ghosts by Robert J. Levy, Amber Notes by Judith A. Rypma, The Drunken Sweetheart at My Door by Ken Meisel, and Unfounded by Michael Trocchia
LEXINGTON, Ky. - Jan. 7, 2015 - PRLog -- FutureCycle Press is proud to add four new titles to its stellar catalog of poetry, now available at www.futurecycle.org. Following its New Year's Day publication of Barbara Crooker: Selected Poems, full-length collections by poets Robert J. Levy, Judith A. Rypma, Ken Meisel, and Michael Trocchia have just been published in paperback and Kindle editions.

Employing a clear, unflinching eye and a wry, affirmative humor, Robert J. Levy’s All These Restless Ghosts unfolds in a series of discursive meditations and vignettes that seek to unearth the large in the small. With a meticulous intimacy and resonant music, Levy mines daily life events, finding in the smallest of moments the most luminous of epiphanies.

In Amber Notes, her second collection from FutureCycle Press (Sewing Lessons, a chapbook, was her first), Judith A. Rypma once again weaves words into poetic patterns that explore everything from the forbidden fruits to the healing gems of our lives. In this latest book, she also “transports us across a lifetime and around the globe,” as Atlanta Review editor Dan Veach puts it. Richard Katrovas concurs, adding that “an insect in amber is the perfect emblem for this dance.”

The Drunken Sweetheart at My Door by Ken Meisel is a book of surrealistic, metaphysical poems about love—poems of invitation, engagement, ordeal, passion and devotion. Meisel’s poems evoke the sentinels of love through the wise voices of angels, swerving swallows, talking orchids, erotic roses, healing chocolates, delirious guitars, and lovers risking everything to stretch into love’s healing powers of solace, challenge, forgiveness, empathy and joy. Meisel’s book celebrates the unconquerable power of the female voice—a voice of lyrical wisdom, honesty, beauty, fervor and grace.

Divided into three parts, Unfounded, Michael Trocchia’s debut collection of verse, is a lyric study on the forms of fate, a haunting discourse on the linguistic fractures between one’s self and substance, and a set of shimmering images and meditations on the constant “guesswork” of understanding the world within us and beyond. Attending to both the magic and logic of our language, Trocchia's poetry draws the two together.

FutureCycle Press, founded in 2007 by long-time editor/publishers and partners Diane Kistner and Robert S. King, is now beginning its eighth year and its seventh of awarding the FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize for the best full-length volume of poetry it publishes each year. The books by Crooker, Levy, Meisel, Rypma, and Trocchia are all contenders for the 2015 prize, which will be judged by poetry editors David Chorlton, Joan Colby, Diane Kistner, Robert S. King, and the 2014 FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize winner (for his Selected Poems), William Greenway.

To find out more about what FutureCycle Press has planned for the coming year, please visit the website at www.futurecycle.org.

Diane Kistner
FutureCycle Press News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share