21 Industry Leaders felicitated at the Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Awards 2014

Spread the Word
Listed Under

Parivartan Awards
Business Sustainability


Nehru Place - Delhi - India


NEHRU PLACE, India - Oct. 18, 2014 - PRLog -- October 16th, 2014 - Over 200 sustainability leaders converged in New Delhi to celebrate the thought leaders in sustainability from the Indian industry at the Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Awards Evening 2014.

The Parivartan Awards recognize and showcase businesses and thought leaders that have implemented resource efficiency measures for making their products, processes, facilities and operations sustainable. Industry Leaders like ITC, Hindustan Petroleum, Kirloskar Oil Engines and ITC Windsor were felicitated for implementing practices for efficient resource management in their production and manufacturing processes, operations and/or facilities. Some of the other winners included sustainability innovators like Maven Systems, Pratibha Sytex, SepraTECH, SIMS Recycling, Clean Motion and more.

The Awards also felicitated sustainability leaders, thinkers and doers from the Indian industry who have been at the forefont of creating change in their organizations and catalysing sustainability conversations in the industry.  The Entrepreneur of the Year was Aditya Handa, MD and CEO, Abellon Clean Energy; the Emerging Leader of the Year was Kiran Sarkar, Mahindra and Mahindra; and the Executive of the Year was Roshan Tamak, Business Head- Sugar, Olam Agro.

Senior business leaders Beroz Gazdar, Sr. Vice President-Group Sustainability, Mahindra & Mahindra Limited and Dr. Yogendra Saxena, Chief Sustainability Officer, Tata Power were felicitated as the CSOs of the Year.

The winners were arrived at after a rigorous two stage review process entailing an initial outreach of over 600 nominations and a final shortlist of 90. The first stage detailed evaluation for the 2014 Awards was conducted by a 30 member Sector Expert Panel consisting of senior technical experts from the industry.

The final detailed review was done by the Grand Jury Panel 2014 which comprised of senior industry veterans: Shri K.C. Mehra, Chairman, SKF India, (Former Dy MD, Tata Steel and Former Chairman, NBQP (QCI); Dr. Kirit S. Parikh, Chairman, Integrated Research and Action for Development, (Former Member, Planning Commission); Shri M.C. Mehta, Public Interest Attorney, (Winner - Goldman Environmental Prize and Ramon Magsaysay Award); Shri Deepak Gupta, Director General, National Solar Energy Federation of India, (Former Secretary, MNRE); Shri Rajendra Shende, Chairman of TERRE Policy Centre, (Former Director, United Nations Environment Program (UNEP); Ms. Chavvi Rajawat, Sarpanch - Village Soda, Rajasthan, (Winner of IBN Live Young Indian Leader Award).

Speaking at the awards event on behalf of the Organizing Committee, Upendra Bhatt, Managing Directors of cKinetics stated, "We are extremely delighted to congratulate the winners of the Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Awards 2014 for moving the needle on sustainability in the Indian industry. We are pleased to see an exceptional uptake of our efforts and much appreciate the recognition and support from the industry”.

Corporate Sustainability Stewardship Awards

·         Subcategory Automotive:

o    Winner – Kirloskar Oil Engines Limited

·         Subcategory Industrial Manufacturing

o    Winner:  ITC

·         Subcategory MNC with India Operations

o    Winner: Schneider Electric

·         Subcategory PSU

o    Winner: Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited

·         Subcategory Technology, Utility and Services

o    Winner: ITC Windsor

Sustainability Disclosure Leadership Awards

Top Finalists

·         National Thermal Power Corporation Ltd. (Subcategory: Power Oil and Gas)

·         ITC Limited (Subcategory: Fast Moving Consumer Goods)

·         Tata Motors (Subcategory: Manufacturing)

·         Tata Chemicals (Subcategory: Pharmaceuticals/Chemicals)

·         Tata Consultancy Services (Subcategory: Services)

·         Cummins (Subcategory: Infrastructure)

Sustainability Innovation Challenge Awards

·        Cost effective resource monitoring systems which control and display usage enabling customer to proactively pursue resource sustainability practices

o    Winner: Maven Systems

·        Innovative Energy Efficient Product

o    Winner: Skyshade Technologies

·        Zero liquid discharge system for industrial wastewater treatment to create closed loop systems

o    Winner: SepraTECH

·        Proven solutions for manufacturing sustainable products

o    Winner: Pratibha Syntex

·        Electronic Waste Management Solutions

o    Winner: SIMS Recycling

·        Cleantech Solutions to enable Consumer Engagement towards Sustainable mobility

o    Winner: Clean Motion

·        Sustainable mobility apps and services to enable Consumer Engagement

o    Winner: Webreinvent Technologies

·        Non-Motorized Sustainable Mobility Services to enable Consumer Engagement

o    Winner: Cycler City

o    Winner: Ride a Cycle Foundation (Namma Cycles)

Industry Sustainability Compass Awards

Winner: The Climate Group

Sustainability Trailblazer of the Year Awards

·         Subcategory CSO of the Year

o    Winner: Beroz Gazdar, Sr. Vice President-Group Sustainability, Mahindra & Mahindra Limited and Dr. Yogendra Saxena, Chief Sustainability Officer, Tata Power

·         Subcategory Emerging Leader of the Year

o    Winner: Kiran Sarkar, Mahindra Gears and Transmission

·         Subcategory Entrepreneur of the Year

o    Aditya Handa, MD and CEO, AbellonClean Energy

·         Subcategory Executive of the Year

o    RoshanTamak, Business Head-Sugar, OlamAgro

More information on the Parivartan Awards

About the Organizer: Sustainability Outlook

Sustainability Outlook is a market access, insight and collaboration platform tracking actions related towards Sustainability in the Indian economy. It proactively promotes dialogue and collates data to enable action by local, regional as well as global practitioners. Sustainability Outlook provides (a) in-depth business and policy analyses (b) updates on the market participants and latest trends on sustainability initiatives and (c) expert inputs on resource reduction and other abatement as well as adaptation measures being undertaken. It was launched at the Clinton Global Initiative in 2009 and is a division of cKinetics.


Tags:Parivartan Awards, Business Sustainability
Industry:Environment, Textile
Location:Nehru Place - Delhi - India
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Sustainability Outlook PRs
Trending News
Most Viewed
Top Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share