Chicago Arts Orchestra Offers Unique Pairing: Frederick the Great and Mozart

Music of the Enlightenment Series Finale Sept. 6 Caps Milestone Year for CAO
2014 Season Spotlights Music of the Enlightenment
2014 Season Spotlights Music of the Enlightenment
Spread the Word
Listed Under

* Classical Music
* Mozart
* Enlightenment
* Chicago Music
* Frederick the Great

* Arts
* Music

* Chicago - Illinois - US

CHICAGO - Aug. 21, 2014 - PRLog -- The Chicago Arts Orchestra (CAO) concludes its 2014 season showcasing two prominent figures of the Enlightenment in the program, “Mozart the Great: Works by W.A. Mozart & Frederick the Great,” at 8 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 6, in the Athenaeum Theatre, 2936 N. Southport Ave., Chicago, Ill.

Frederick II, also known as Frederick the Great, is most remembered for his military successes during his reign over the former kingdom of Prussia, but he was also an accomplished flautist, composer, and patron of the arts.  Although his work is rarely performed, the CAO has programmed both his Sinfonia in G major and Sinfonia in D major for the concert. Highlighting the evening is guest soloist Brian Bloye performing W.A. Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 12 in A major, K. 414.  Composed in the autumn of 1782, the Piano Concerto No. 12 was the first in a set of three concertos written during the master's early years in Vienna. Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante in E-flat major, K. 364 complements the program and features violinist Yuriy Geyer and violist Timothy Hager, both of whom are CAO members.

Northwestern University Associate Professor of Philosophy Rachel Zuckert leads a Prelude pre-concert discussion at 7:30 p.m. covering the Enlightenment era’s philosophical roots and how they shaped the expansive interests of Frederick, who also corresponded with Voltaire. “This concert is a really unique opportunity to find out what a so-called ‘enlightened despot’ might compose,” Zuckert said.

Earlier this year, the orchestra earned statewide recognition after being named Professional Orchestra of the Year by the Illinois Council of Orchestras. “I am very proud of the growth of the Chicago Arts Orchestra and the artistic quality that we add to the Chicago music scene,” said CAO Artistic Director Javier José Mendoza. “We take delight in offering programming that spotlights traditional works and less familiar masterpieces, as represented by the contributions of Frederick II in this program,” he added.

Concert tickets are available at the Athenaeum Theatre Box Office: $25 for patrons; $20 at the door; $17 in advance; and $15 for students and seniors. For more information, visit or call the box office at (773) 935-6875.

Please note: Complimentary passes are available for members of the news media.

About Chicago Arts Orchestra:

The CAO, Artistic Director Javier José Mendoza, strives to touch an underserved and neglected audience by championing all types of art music. The CAO was established by musicians and creative artists to perform great music and to make chamber music accessible and affordable. Comprising young professional musicians with active performance schedules in Chicago, the CAO provides educational opportunities to the community through innovative programming of historic and new orchestral music. For more information, please visit

About the Athenaeum Theatre:

Athenaeum Theatre Productions (ATP) is Chicago’s premiere performance arts service organization, providing our Chicago and Illinois’s vibrant and diverse non-profit arts community with below cost performance and rehearsal spaces, and affordable office space supported by a staff of theatre professionals encouraging the community to incubate new projects and collaborations. For more information, please visit

Source:Chicago Arts Orchestra
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Classical Music, Mozart, Enlightenment, Chicago Music, Frederick the Great
Industry:Arts, Music
Location:Chicago - Illinois - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
DraytonSidney News
Daily News
Weekly News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share