Statewide Disability Rights Organization Announces its Fiscal Year 2015 Board of Directors

Spread the Word
Listed Under

* Maryland
* Developmental Disabilities
* The Arc
* FY2015
* Advocacy

* Non-profit

* Annapolis - Maryland - US

ANNAPOLIS, Md. - July 8, 2014 - PRLog -- A roster of passionate new Board members was recently elected and sworn in to serve on the Board of Directors of The Arc Maryland, the state’s largest-not-for profit statewide advocacy organization dedicated to the rights of persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities. The Annapolis-based organization is part of a national network of state and local chapters throughout the country. Board Members were elected and sworn in at The Arc Maryland Annual Meeting in June.

The new board includes self-advocates, siblings and parents of children with developmental disabilities, representing Anne Arundel County, Baltimore County, Howard County, Montgomery County and Prince George’s County.  New board members are Annette Hinkle, Molly Timko, Philip Weintraub and Valerie Williams.

Board members are expected to make a contribution to The Arc Maryland mission:  working to create a world where children and adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities have and enjoy equal rights and opportunities.  Newly-elected parent advocate Valerie Williams, who also serves on the Board for The Arc Prince Georges County, believes “this mission speaks to exactly what we are trying to achieve for our son.  Independence, self-determination, having access to all the supports he needs, and being treated equally in every respect because generally people are more alike than they are different.”

In addition to new Board members, The Arc Maryland elected a new President Richard Dean who is the immediate past Treasurer and has served on the Board since 2011.  “These are challenging times and I look forward to serving with my fellow Board members, Chapter leaders, Coalition partners, The Arc Maryland staff and members of The Arc Maryland to make a positive difference in the lives of people with intellectual and developmental disabilities and their families,” said President Richard Dean.

The Arc Maryland thanks outgoing Board Members:  Janice Caro and Michael Mack.

About the Arc Maryland:

Dedicated to creating a world where children and adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities have and enjoy equal rights and opportunities since 1950.  For more information visit The Arc Maryland website at

FY2015 Board Members of The Arc Maryland

Executive Committee:

President: Richard Dean, family advocate

Vice President: Aileen O’Hare, self-advocate

Treasurer: Annette Hinkle

Secretary: Adam Vanderhook, sibling advocate

Immediate Past President: Carol Fried, family advocate


Michelle Cohen

Eugene Mark

Jim Rosner

Dan Schmitt

Michael Smull

Molly Timko

Philip Weintraub

Grace Williams

Valerie Williams

Director Representing MCEArc:

Steve Morgan

Directors Representing People on the Go:

Alex Barnes

Vicki Mills

The Arc Maryland
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Maryland, Developmental Disabilities, The Arc, FY2015, Advocacy
Location:Annapolis - Maryland - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
The Arc Maryland News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share