Illa Ghee - Social Graffiti (Album)

Brooklyn Veteran Emcee Writes his Name in Graffiti on the Wall with New LP
Illa Ghee - Social Graffiti
Illa Ghee - Social Graffiti
Spread the Word
Listed Under

* Illa Ghee
* Social Graffiti
* Hip-hop Rap
* Album

* Entertainment
* Music

* Brooklyn - New York - US

* Products

BROOKLYN, N.Y. - June 29, 2014 - PRLog -- Longtime Brooklynite lyricist Illa Ghee gets set to release his third solo full length LP, Social Graffiti, through his IMOR Entertainment imprint on July 8th. The RIAA Certified Gold Record recipient admits to creating his most lyrical effort to date. "No filler, no dumbing it down.. I"m lyrically at my best," states Illa Ghee. Illa uses his notable mic skills to accomplish the album's overarching theme, drawing a parallel to the beauty found in Graffiti, with the art found in rap lyrics. "Most people look at graffiti and see it as trash. They don't see the art, or the letters in the art. I feel like for Hip-Hop it's the same thing.. people don't hear the beauty in the art form," Ghee concludes.

With a guestlilst of features comprised of Illa's rhyming peers' Sean Price, O.C., Fame (of M.O.P.), Guilty Simpson, JuJu (of The Beatnuts), Royal Flush and General Steele (of Smif-n-Wessun), the Brooklyn veteran amplifies the already entrenched 'Empire State' identity of the album. Sonically, Illa further cements the album's 'Golden Age' sensibilities with production supplied by legendary beatsmith's Large Professor (Nas, Busta Rhymes), Ayatollah (Mos Def, Ghostface Killah), DJ Skizz (Your Old Drood, Cormega, M.O.P., Big Noyd), Team Demo (50 Cent), with the majority of production handled by VA's Crummie Beats, whose produced for the likes of French Montana, Juelz Santana, Wiz Khalifa, Sean Price and the Wu-Tang Clan.

With rhyming roots that trace back to Mobb Deep's sophomore LP, Hell on Earth, to his feature on The Alchemist's "Hold You Down," which peaked at number 101 on the the Billboard 200, Illa Ghee is no stranger to industry success. Referring to himself as rap's James Worthy, a track title featured on Social Graffiti, Ghee parallels his work ethic to the retired NBA star. "People dig my lyrics but I'm not a super star. The same way James Worthy was to Magic and Kareem," adds Ghee. On Social Graffiti, Illa proudly fills the shoes of 'Big Game James' whereby delivering a triple double performance worthy of being displayed end-to-end in any gallery or 2 train. Social Graffiti will be available on CD through select brick and mortor stores and online sites, as well as digital download, through all major digital retailers.

iTunes Pre-Order:

01. Social Graffiti (Intro) (prod. by William Giovanni)
02. Salute The General (feat. Fame) [prod. by DJ Skizz]
03. Speak To 'Em (feat. Sean Price) [prod. by Crummie Beats]
04. Murda Boyz (prod. by Diallo)
05. Rum Raisin (prod. by M. Stacks)
06. Get Money (prod. by Vinyl Frontiers)
07. Razor Blade Vomit (prod. by Amazing SB)
08. Blurred Pupil (feat. Rell) [prod. by Shawneci]
09. James Worthy (prod. by George Black)
10. Bruised Ego (feat. JuJu) [prod. by Crummie Beats]
11. No Mercy (feat. Guilty Simpson & Switch) [prod. by Crummie Beats]
12. B.O.D.Y. (Bars Over Dose Yours) (prod. Crummie Beats)
13. Hold Up (feat Royal Flush) [prod. by Grayce Musik]
14. Talking In A 3rd Person (prod. by Ayatollah)
15. 90 (prod. by Large Professor)
16. On The Bklyn Side (feat. Steele & O.C.) [prod. by Shawneci]
17. Open Up The Door (prod. by Team Demo)

Press Quotes:
• "Social Graffiti pairs poignant bars with a sophisticated beat selection. It's not only a soundtrack for the streets, but one for the mind." -HipHop DX

• "Ghee drops slang technology buttery enough to cover a jumbo bucket of popcorn, slyly informing us that, 'Life’s a bitch – better yet a Kardashian.'" -Unkut

• "Large Pro snapped on this beat and Illa rode it perfectly" -Nah Right

• "With his third album, Social Graffiti, set to drop July 8th, Illa lets loose this soulfully gutter track co-starring none other than Mic Tyson."  -2DOPEBOYZ

• "Today, he [Illa Ghee] makes his long-overdue debut on our pages with Speak to ‘Em, a “soulfully gutter” single off his next full-length." -DJBooth

• "The one and only, Illa Ghee, is back! The impressive wordsmith makes his way back to the game today with a brand new track for our listening enjoyment." -stupidDOPE

Diamond Media 360
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Illa Ghee, Social Graffiti, Hip-hop Rap, Album, IMOR ENT.
Industry:Entertainment, Music
Location:Brooklyn - New York - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Page Updated Last on: Jun 30, 2014
Diamond Media 360 News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share