Meb Keflezighi Becomes First African-American to Win the Boston Marathon

BOSTON - April 25, 2014 - PRLog -- The National Black Marathoners Association wants to congratulate the 2014 Boston Marathon winner, Meb Keflezighi, on his historic victory. He not only became the first American winner in 31 years, but the first African-American winner in the event’s 118 year history. He was also the first African-American to win an Olympic marathon medal (silver) in the 2004 Games and the first to win the New York City Marathon in 2009.

About National Black Marathoners' Association: The National Black Marathoners' Association (NBMA) is the USA's oldest and largest, not-for-profit organization. It's dedicated to encouraging people to pursue a healthy life-style through running and walking. It is open to everyone, regardless of their athletic ability or previous marathon experience.

The NBMA is the home for the National Black Distance Runner Hall of Fame. Past honorees include (late) Ted Corbitt, the first African-American Olympic Marathoner and four-time, third place Boston Marathon finisher, and Marilyn Bevans, second place 1977 Boston Marathon finisher and a top ten ranked marathoner in the world (1977).

The NBMA hosts an Annual Summit for its members to participate. They'll meet at the Windermere Marathon in Spokane, WA during the May 31 weekend.  Previous locations and events for the gathering have been Lewis & Clark Marathon (St. Charles, MO), New Jersey Marathon (Long Branch, NJ), Rite-Aid Cleveland (OH) Marathon, Lost Dutchman Marathon (Apache Junction, AZ), Cowtown Marathon (Ft. Worth, TX), ING (Atlanta) Georgia Marathon, Bermuda International Race Weekend, Deadwood-Michelson Marathon (Deadwood, SD), and Richmond (VA) Marathon. The NBMA's website is

Tony Reed
National Black Marathoners Association PRs
Trending News
Most Viewed
Top Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share