Austin Poetry Society Seeks 2014 Annual Contest Submissions

AUSTIN, Texas - March 3, 2014 - PRLog -- The Austin Poetry Society (APS) is excited to announce that submissions to its 2014 annual awards contests are now being accepted. This year, the society and its contest sponsors are sponsoring 29 contests and combined prizes that total more than $2,500.

Said Bronmin Shumway, current president of the APS, “This year, we have some of the most interesting and accomplished judges recruited. I expect our awards ceremony in May 2014 to be a poetic blast.”

Past judges of APS contests have included Ilya Kaminsky, Budd Powell Mahan and Naomi Shihab Nye.

Continued Shumway, “It’s always fun to see an APS member be recognized for his or her work. It’s even more interesting when a previously unknown poet makes a splash as a result of winning an APS contest. Acknowledging and uncovering local talent is an APS tradition.”

APS annual contest entries can now be submitted online through Submittable as well as by regular mail. Winning an APS annual contest results in a monetary award and the potential to be included in the APS’s upcoming anthology, Best Austin Poetry 2013 – 2014, to be published after the May 2014 awards ceremony.

Only APS members are eligible to enter APS contests. To learn how to become a member of the APS, visit All annual contest submissions must be postmarked or received by March 31, 2014.

About the APS:

The Austin Poetry (APS) was founded in 1949, and has been a chapter of the Poetry Society of Texas since that time. Four members of the APS have been poets laureate of Texas, and other members have won numerous national and international prizes and been widely published. In addition to sponsoring monthly and annual poetry contests, the APS presents the Jenny Lind Porter Scholarship to a deserving Texas college student each year, hosts regular meetings, workshops and events, and periodically publishes a member anthology. For more information on the APS and all of the things it is doing to promote poetry and literature in our community, or to become a member, visit

Allyson Whipple, Vice President

Like PRLog?
Click to Share