FutureCycle Press Publishes William Greenway's Selected Poems

Selected from seven volumes of poetry published between 1982 and 2008, this book is "the perfect introduction" to William Greenway's "lively, irresistable work."
Available February 9th
Available February 9th
MURPHY, N.C. - Feb. 9, 2014 - PRLog -- FutureCycle Press (www.futurecycle.org) is pleased to announce the publication of William Greenway: Selected Poems. This 130-page collection spans seven volumes and more than twenty-five years of writing. For those not yet familiar with William Greenway, author Lynne Powell describes this volume as “the perfect introduction to his lively, irresistible work.”

In these pages, readers are given a good taste of Everywhere at Once (2008), which won the Ohioana Poetry Book of the Year Award—as did Ascending Order (2003). Other samplings are taken from Pressure Under Grace and Where We’ve Been (Breitenbush Books, 1982, 1987), How the Dead Bury the Dead and Simmer Dim (University of Akron Press, 1994, 1999), and Fishing At the End of the World (Word Press, 2005).

The selections in this book travel between muggy recollections of a Southern Baptist childhood, meditations on the otherworldly beauty of Wales, and commentary on life, death, and the revelry in between. For every witty turn of phrase, a punch beyond the punch line stuns us with wisdom and transcendence. A poem like “Ophelia Writes Home,” a witty revisionist account that shifts the slaughter of that famous tragedy to domestic bliss, exemplifies Greenway’s genius for reconciliation, for the grace of happiness no matter what happens. We smile, we grieve, and we keep reading these surehanded and goodhearted poems.

William Greenway's work has been published in Poetry, American Poetry Review, Georgia Review, Southern Review, Poetry Northwest, Shenandoah, and Prairie Schooner. He has won the Helen and Laura Krout Memorial Poetry Award, the Larry Levis Editors’ Prize from Missouri Review, the Open Voice Poetry Award from The Writer’s Voice, the State Street Press Chapbook Competition, an Ohio Arts Council Grant, and was 1994 Georgia Author of the Year. Greenway is Professor of English at Youngstown State University.

William Greenway: Selected Poems is now available on the Catalog tab of the FutureCycle Press website (www.futurecycle.org) and from Amazon in paperback. The Kindle edition will be released later this week.

Diane Kistner
Source: » Follow
Tags:Futurecycle, Contemporary Poetry, Selected Poems, Book Prize, Good Works
Industry:Books, Publishing
Location:Murphy - North Carolina - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share