2013 FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize Winner Announced

Now starting its sixth year, the FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize is awarded for the best full-length volume of poetry published by FutureCycle Press in a calendar year. The 2013 prize goes to poet Joan Colby for her Selected Poems.
1 2
Poet Joan Colby Wins Book Prize
Poet Joan Colby Wins Book Prize
Jan. 1, 2014 - PRLog -- FutureCycle Press (www.futurecycle.org) is pleased to announce the 2013 FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize Winner: Joan Colby: Selected Poems by Joan Colby. In addition to the prize, Colby receives an honorarium and will serve as honorary judge for the 2014 FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize. She will also receive copies of all 2014 book prize contenders for her library.

Established in 2009, the FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize is awarded for the best full-length volume of poetry published by the press in a given year. The winning poet receives an honorarium—a percentage of the press’s total online book, chapbook, and ebook sales in the year of publication—and also serves on the panel of judges the following year. Previous winners include Dead Wendy by Richard Carr (2012), Mosslight by Kimberley Pittman-Schultz (2011), Stealing Hymnals From the Choir by Timothy Martin (2010), and No Loneliness by Temple Cone (2009).

Judges for the 2013 FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize were the 2012 prize winner, poet Richard Carr (for Dead Wendy), and editors Diane Kistner, David Chorlton, Jon Pineda, and Robert S. King of FutureCycle Press. The prize-winning book was selected from twelve full-length poetry books published by the press in 2013.

To celebrate the award, Joan Colby: Selected Poems is the press's Goodreads Giveaway title for January. Visitors to the FutureCycle Press web site can enter to win a paperback copy from the widget on the right-hand side of the home page. The Kindle edition is also one of the press's Free Kindle Saturdays titles during the month of January. (Free Kindle Saturdays titles are easily found by selecting Kindle Editions from the Catalog tab at the web site on any Saturday; ebooks on special promotion can be found the same way on any day of the week.)

In addition to Colby's book, contenders for the prize (in order of publication) included Wild Plums by Barbara Conrad, The Red Coat by Jane Ellen Glasser, Expecting Delays by George Bishop, Admissions by Don Narkevic, Dazzling Wobble by Judyth Hill, Before Whose Glory by Lawrence Kessenich, What the Mouth Was Made For by Katherine Riegel, Controlled Hallucinations by John Sibley Williams, Whatever It Takes to Make Us Feel Alive by Bill Edmondson, The Hermits of Dingle by George Moore, and Fugitive Pigments by Ruth Bavetta.

To submit book manuscripts for publication and book prize consideration, refer to the Guidelines.

Source: » Follow
Email:***@futurecycle.org Email Verified
Tags:Futurecycle, Contemporary Poetry, Poems, Book Prize, Poetry Book Prize, Poetry Prize, Good Works, American poets
Industry:Books, Event, Publishing
Location:United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Page Updated Last on: Jan 01, 2014

Like PRLog?
Click to Share