Sean Price & M-Phazes - Land of the Crooks (EP)

Brownseville Meets Melbourne For Coalmine Records' Latest Offering
By: Coalmine Records
Sean Price & M-Phazes - Land of the Crooks (EP)
Sean Price & M-Phazes - Land of the Crooks (EP)
Spread the Word
Listed Under

* Sean Price
* M-phazes
* Coalmine Records
* Independent Hip Hop
* New Music

* Entertainment
* Music

* Brooklyn - New York - US

* Projects

BROOKLYN, N.Y. - Dec. 10, 2013 - PRLog -- Coalmine Records is pleased to release Land of the Crooks, a collaborative extended play release from Brooklyn's Sean Price and Melbourne's M-Phazes. The EP contains four original tracks, with the addition of the Small Professor Remix of "Murdah Type Thinkin," featuring Guilty Simpson. Additional features on LOTC include Roc Marciano, Billy Danze (of M.O.P.), Maffew Ragazino, Loudmouf Choir and the Dilated Junky, DJ Babu. Included on the retails tracklist is the "Crookapella," which includes various scratch stems taken from the EP, in addition to the isolated drums and sound effects used on "Land of the Crooks," as well as the song's acapella. Land of the Crooks becomes available through all major digital retailers for just $5.99, and can be found on CD as part of a Double Disc set, along with Guilty Simpson & Small Professor's Highway Robbery LP, via Fat Beats.

Both artists are coming off very successful years as Sean Price released his third solo effort Mic Tyson towards the end of 2012, and M-Phazes received his first platinum record for co-production credits on Eminem's eight studio album, The Marshall Mathers LP 2.

In a recent interview with The Village Voice 'Phazes discusses his approach to producing for Sean Price: "I think for a rapper like Sean I try and leave a lot of space in the track -- I try not to overdo it production wise 'cause he's more lyrical and I want to let that be the highlight of the song as opposed to me flexing my production skills." "But at the same time, I want to make sure the drums snap and it has that ruggedness that he raps so well over," he adds.

The full Land of the Crooks EP will drop on December 17th and comes complete with artwork inspired by the vintage '80s flick "Crocodile" Dundee. In a recent column featured on the label's website, Coalmine's founder Matt Diamond discusses the creative direction used for the cover art: "The idea of doing a spin off “Crocodile” Dundee was a concept that came to mind the moment I thought of putting out this project. The movie definitely appeals to the generation of fans that would appreciate a Sean Price x M-Phazes collab. That movie poster was iconic, so to it see it translate with both P and Phazes represented on the cover is pretty dope, and hilarious. I wanted the image to maintain a certain sense of geographical identity, which explains why P’s holding back project tenements that you’d find in Brownseville, while Phazes is pushing aside the Sydney Opera House. I also advised the designer to add Gorilla’s and Kangaroos to run hog wild in the street, to replace the cars and cabs from the original poster, which adds to the lawlessness that you’d suspect when you’d combine both artists."

01. Bag of Shit (feat. Loudmouf Choir)
02. Dump In The Gut
03. Land of the Crooks (feat. Billy Danze, Maffew Ragazino & DJ Babu)
04. Murdah Type Thinkin (feat. Roc Marciano)
05. Murdah Type Thinkin (feat. Guilty Simpson) [Small Professor Remix]
06. Bag of Shit (Instrumental)
07. Dump In The Gut (Instrumental)
08. Land of the Crooks (Instrumental)
09. Murdah Type Thinkin (Instrumental)
10. Murdah Type Thinkin (Small Professor Remix) Instrumental
11. Crookapella (Beat Kit/Scratch Stems)

• "Land of the Crooks" (feat. Billy Danze, Maffew Ragazino & DJ Babu):
• "Dump In The Gut":

Pre-Order Links:
• iTunes:
• Fat Beats:

M-Phazes - Beats for Crooks
With the pre-order of Land of the Crooks now available, The Drum Broker is pleased to offer Beats For Crooks, for Exclusive Download. Consisting of over 25 percussion (drums) and sound effects lifted straight from the EP, Beats For Crooks is for those looking to add Phazes' signature knock to their existing production cache. From the Billy Danze, Maffew Ragazino and DJ Babu featured EP-titled Brooklyn anthem, to the smack heavy snares extracted from the Roc Marciano co-starring banger "Murdah Type Thinkin," Beats For Crooks showcases why M-Phazes has one of the most lethal percussion armories in the game.

Beats For Crooks is available in two formats:

• Immediate digital download (EP & Drum Samples) for just $19.99
• Deluxe Edition, which comes pre-loaded on our exclusive 16GB NI Maschine Flash Drive, equipped with the full EP, and acapellas, for just $49.99

*Please note that the deluxe edition will not ship until Tuesday, December 17th, upon the official release of(EP).  Those that purchase the digital download will be emailed a download link to the full EP (which includes the instrumental mix passes) on December 17th.

Matt Diamond
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Sean Price, M-phazes, Coalmine Records, Independent Hip Hop, New Music
Industry:Entertainment, Music
Location:Brooklyn - New York - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share