Cyber Monday Kicks Off Countdown to 2013 FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize Announcement

Cyber Monday through January 10, the twelve contenders for the 2013 FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize are on countdown in the Kindle Store
1 2
To Be Announced January 10
To Be Announced January 10
Dec. 2, 2013 - PRLog -- FutureCycle Press has completed judging for the 2013 FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize, and the winner will be announced on the website and to the media in early January. Counting down to the announcement, Kindle editions of the twelve contending books will be available as Kindle Countdown offerings via the Catalog/Kindle Editions tab on the press website.

Two titles each week will be offered at discount beginning on Cyber Monday. Before Whose Glory by Lawrence Kessenich and What the Mouth Was Made For by Katherine Riegel will kick off the countdown.

Established in 2009, the FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize is awarded for the best full-length volume of poetry published by the press in a given year. The winning poet receives an honorarium—a percentage of the press’s total online book and chapbook sales in the year of publication—and also serves on the panel of judges the following year. Previous winners include Dead Wendy by Richard Carr (2012), Mosslight by Kimberley Pittman-Schultz (2011), Stealing Hymnals From the Choir by Timothy Martin (2010), and No Loneliness by Temple Cone (2009).

The prize contenders (in order of publication) include Wild Plums by Barbara Conrad, The Red Coat by Jane Ellen Glasser, Expecting Delays by George Bishop, Admissions by Don Narkevic, Dazzling Wobble by Judyth Hill, Before Whose Glory by Lawrence Kessenich, What the Mouth Was Made For by Katherine Riegel, Controlled Hallucinations by John Sibley Williams, Whatever It Takes to Make Us Feel Alive by Bill Edmondson, The Hermits of Dingle by George Moore, Fugitive Pigments by Ruth Bavetta, and Joan Colby: Selected Poems by Joan Colby.

The 2013 competition was judged by the 2012 FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize winner, poet Richard Carr (for Dead Wendy), and press editors Diane Kistner, David Chorlton, Jon Pineda, and Robert S. King. The judges are all poets and writers with many publications and books to their credit, and some of their work has also won prestigious awards.

The Kindle editions of the countdown books can be purchased for as little as .99 cents. FutureCycle Press also offers weekly Free Kindle Saturdays promotions of at least one of its books, chapbooks, or anthologies and a monthly Goodreads Giveaway of a paperback edition of one of its titles.


Like PRLog?
Click to Share