Stellar reviews for BEA'S OWN GOOD Free for Five Days Jan 22-26

Fly with Bea to the Chateau of Villandry in the Loire Valley of France where a change in the weather turns her reckless adventure into a near calamity. Breathtakingly illustrated, this story is all following rules, and the orderly life of bees.
 
 
Bea'sOwnGood_amazon
Bea'sOwnGood_amazon
 
Spread the Word
Listed Under

Tags:
Free Kindle
France
Bees
Boundaries
Rules

Industrys:
Books
Family

Location:
Kansas City - Missouri - US

Jan. 21, 2013 - PRLog -- Find BEA'S OWN GOOD Free for Kindle Fire and related devices at amazon.com and www.childrensebooksbyjoan.com

3

4.0 out of 5 stars

What a beautiful little book!, January 12, 2013

By

critters (http://www.amazon.com/gp/pdp/profile/AN0N05A9LIJEQ/ref=cm_cr_pr_pdp)
(VINE VOICE) (http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html/ref=cm_rn_bdg_help?ie=UTF8&nodeId=14279681&pop-up=1#VN)  

The illustrations and message in this little gem can't be beat, but I took a star because the system that magnifies the print so that it's legible doesn't seem to be entirely reliable. If that gets fixed I would recommend "Bea" with no reservations at all.

3.0 out of 5 stars

Bea's Own Good, December 16, 2012

By

Jo Cheatham (http://www.amazon.com/gp/pdp/profile/ARPQY56NITOK1/ref=cm...)

Excellent reading. Interesting illustrations.
Good reading exercise for first graders on up. Good moral of story about following set rules.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great!, November 23, 2012

By

This book series is really well done and teaches valuable lessons! I am happy to have gotten this book when it was free because I couldn't have paid the asking price. I am very glad I was able to get it though!

4.0 out of 5 stars

Illustrations 5, Story 5, Readability 1, November 7, 2012

By

4Nbahu "Free Book Hunter" (http://www.amazon.com/gp/pdp/profile/AU510CVD9XDG/ref=cm_...) (New Delhi, India

While reading this on my 17" monitor I was unable to see the writing clearly. If I used CTRL + I was able to bring the font to a readable size, but then I lost the illustration.

Even with this issue I feel this was a fantastic book. The illustrations were complex, colorful, detailed pieces of art that visually portrayed the written word.

The story is about Bea, a young bee who learns the lesson of why it is important to follow the hive rules. During the story we are shown various activities in and around the hive.

Although the story is told eloquently, I feel it would have to be read to most children as larger and unusual words are used frequently. Not so much unknown by sound, but might be difficult for children below 3rd grade.

Included in the end of the story are several useful extras. Included are talking points about the story as well as an explanation of words that are either encountered in the story or describe aspects of a bee's life.

There is also a text only version of this book offered separately.

4.0 out of 5 stars

Good Book, October 1, 2012

By

Veronica Lopez (http://www.amazon.com/gp/pdp/profile/A36VKO9HFROYQ/ref=cm...)  

This a good book to teach a child about rules and why they are enforced. My son and I enjoyed reading it together

5.0 out of 5 stars

great story, September 12, 2012

By

becky1220

Its a great story. My daughter is only 17 months so she isn't really saying much about the story but I loved it. Very descriptive with beautiful pictures

4.0 out of 5 stars

Pretty good, January 18, 2013

By

Danna Bridges

This review is from: BEA'S OWN GOOD Following Rules Children's Picture Book (Fully Illustrated Version) (Kindle Edition)

Some of the print didn't translate to a good size for my Kindle, so my students aren't enjoying it like I hoped

3.0 out of
There is

BEA'S OWN GOOD

Fully Illustrated Version

Double tap to ZOOM to enlarge type

Picture Book for reading with the younger child – ages 3-6

This version of BEA'S OWN GOOD includes all the luminous illustrations just waiting to enchant children of any age, and especially the read-to set.

FOLLOWING THE RULES

Make a beeline for the French countryside to learn how boundaries benefit everyone

To keep the honeycomb strong, to make the very best honey, and to keep all the little honeybees safe and sound, bees must do things just so-according to bee rules. During her first days in the hive, young Beatrice is as busy as the proverbial bee learning all the rules her sisters can teach her.

But sometimes a young bee gets tired of following rules-especially if they interfere with her plans to visit a beautiful garden-perhaps the most beautiful garden in the world.

"No more bee rules," declares Beatrice. "I can make my own rules!"

Linda Talley's story, based on her lifelong research of French life, takes us along with Bea to the Chateau of Villandry in the Loire Valley of France, where a change in the weather turns her reckless adventure into a near calamity.

Artist Andra Chase has drawn upon her own travel in France to capture Bea's world in sparkling watercolors - the beehive, inside and out, the meadow beyond the bee-master's wall, full of buttercups, anemones and sweet violets, a colorful village market, and the famed terraced gardens of Villandry.

When Bea sets out on her adventure, she has much to learn about the world and about how rules can help keep her safe and happy. She is like children everywhere-eager to explore and discover and break free of rules. Bea learns that luck and kindness may sometimes save the day, but that breaking the rules can be risky business. She learns, as will children who read her story, just what rules are for.

A SURPRISE and added bonus is the "Enrichment Information" which includes lots of facts about France, the Loire River Valley, the Gardens of Villandry, a French Market, From Nectar to Honey, the Honeybee Colony, Pollen, Bee Stings, the Bee Hive and the Honeycomb. This is fascinating detail that did not make it into the story itself, but is very rich in interesting description.

A second big plus is the "Letter to Parents and Educators" which includes many relevant questions and comments to facilitate conversation with young readers about the message of the story...the importance of following rules. So even though on the surface this is just an engaging story for children, it is also truly helpful in a real way.

MAKING THE CASE FOR CHARACTER EDUCATION

If you are tired of bullying, teasing, youth violence, gangs, vandalism, drug abuse, sexual misconduct…

If you are tired of the crisis with our older youth…

If you want to help make a difference one tiny step at a time…

Then this is the eBook for your children ages 3-9.

Read WITH your children and grandchildren, discuss the concept and message…

and know that you are part of the movement sweeping America to bring back our important values by restoring character education in our homes and schools.

(signed) The Thoughtful Parent
JOAN'S eBOOKS LLC
End
Source:
Email:***@aol.com Email Verified
Phone:1-816-392-1665
Zip:64112
Tags:Free Kindle, France, Bees, Boundaries, Rules
Industry:Books, Family
Location:Kansas City - Missouri - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
JOAN'S eBOOKS LLC PRs
Trending News
Top Daily News
Top Weekly News



Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share