The Women's Image Awards 14 WINNERS

The WIN Awards 14 Announces The 2012 WINNERS: including Nicole Kidman, Whitney Cummings, Katherine McPhee, Veep & Honoree Maria Bell (Longtime Young & The Restless Head Writer & Executive Producer, Art Activist)
By: Women's Image Network
Maria Bell WIN Humanitarian Honoree, Lisa Kudrow Presenter
Maria Bell WIN Humanitarian Honoree, Lisa Kudrow Presenter
Dec. 20, 2012 - PRLog -- Los Angeles --
The WINNERS At The WIN Awards 14 Ceremony
On Wednesday, December 12, 2012 Women’s Image Network presented The WIN Awards advertising, film and television awards ceremony at The Paramount Theater in Los Angeles.

Joining the festivities were: Diana DeGarmo, Ace Young, Beverly Johnson, Bruce Vilanch, Lauralee Bell, Lisa Kudrow, Melissa Peterman, Nadine Velazquez, Maria Arena Bell, George Kotsiopoulos. Christopher McDonald and other producers, writers, directors and fans who celebrated the 14th Annual Women's Image Network (WIN) Award nominees, honoree and winners.

The WIN Awards celebrate dimensional female media film, television and advertising images and honor both women and men who "promote gender parity through both their creativity and leadership," according to WIN founder, actress/producer, Phyllis Stuart.

Lisa Kudrow presented WIN honoree Maria Bell her humanitarian tribute and said: "Art is vital for all human beings to fully develop," and then showed Maria's tribute reel featuring Jeff Koons, Eli Broad, Jeffrey Deitch, Rodarte,Eric Braeden, Melody Thomas Scott and Jeanne Cooper. When accepting her award Ms. Bell said, "I am so honored that WIN, an organization that promotes positive images of women and girls in the media and recognizes female writers, producers and directors chose to honor me with their Humanitarian Award. WIN wanted to recognize my work in the arts and arts education through organizations like PS Arts, MOCA and Americans for the Arts as well as my recent appointment by Mayor Villaraigosa as a cultural affairs commissioner for the city of Los Angeles. I thank Phyllis Stuart for her leadership at WIN."

The Paramount Theater WIN Awards crowd was populated by artists of all sorts, from the comedic duo of Melissa Peterman (Baby Daddy) and Bruce Vilanch (Hollywood Squares) who hosted the show to fashion designer Tarina Tarantino, acclaimed photographer Timothy Greenfield-Sanders and supermodel Beverly Johnson.

Before heading to Broadway to star in “Nerds” American Idol favorite Diana DeGarmo belted out two songs..

Drama actress winner, and "Idol" alumni Katherine McPhee Smash accepted her award from WIN presenter Ace Young via video, while Whitney Cummings did the same for her actress in a Comedy series win. Nadine Velasquez, and "Flight" star presented. Cummings said: "It's hard to be a strong woman in this business," but joked, "but I'm happy to beat out the others for this award!"

Nicole Kidman took the trophy for Best Actress in a Made-for-Television movie for her HBO movie Hemingway and Gelhorn and her executive producer and friend Trish Hoffman, accepted Nicole's award. Boardwalk Empire star On behalf of London-based director Susanna White, Christopher McDonald accepted her best director win for having directed a stirring Boardwalk Empire episode.

The WIN Awards 2012 WINNERS

Comedy Series:  Veep “Nicknames”; Actress Comedy Series: Whitney Cummings; Made For Television Movie: Game Change Actress Made For Television Movie: Nicole Kidman Hemingway & Gellhorn ; Show/Film Directed By A Woman:  Susanna White Boardwalk Empire “A Dangerous Maid”; Documentary Film: About Face: Supermodels Then And Now ; Film / Show Written By A Woman: Raelle Tucker True Blood  “Whatever I am, You Made Me” .Raelle Tucker; Film / Show Produced By A Woman:          Jennifer Aniston, Paula Wagner, Marta Kauffman, Kristin Hahn & Marta Kaufman, Francesca Silvestri. Five ; Reality Series:  Pit Bills and Parolees “Heart Broken”; Drama Series  Smash ; Actress Drama Series: Katharine McPhee Smash “Bombshell” and  Advertising Campaign: “Mean Stinks” Leo Burnett

About WIN & The WIN Awards

Since 1993, the non-profit corporation Women's Image Network has produced The WIN Awards to honor outstanding individuals in politics, business, music and the media who promote gender parity through their creativity and leadership. Women's Image Network, (WIN), produces The WIN Awards to thank those who advance opportunities for women by creating dimensional female media images.

WIN works to level the playing field for women and girls by encouraging media artists to create dimensional female film and television images because to achieve equal rights and dignity for gender equality and women's empowerment are fundamental to our mission. Equality for women and girls is also an economic and social imperative, because until women and girls are liberated from poverty and injustice, peace, security, and sustainable development are in jeopardy.

Each year since 1993, in addition to celebrating an illustrious honoree, the film studios and television networks enter The WIN Awards to compete for a tribute in one of its twelve categories. Moreover, The WIN Awards have previously been chaired by Susan Sarandon, Sid Ganis and Jane Fonda while a few former WIN Award recipients include: Dame Elizabeth Taylor, Senator Barbara Boxer, Lily Tomlin, Helen Mirren, Lauren Bacall, Jane Campion, Elizabeth Guider, Lynn Redgrave, Diane Ladd, Lauren Shuler Donner, Catherine Hardwicke, Christine Lahti and Gurinder Chadha.  Former participants, hosts and presenters include: Mickey Rooney, Jane Lynch, Carl Reiner, Rachel Weisz, Seth Rogen, Sara Rue, Lea Thompson, Harry Shearer, Kathy Griffin, Paula Poundstone, Wendy Liebman, Selena Gomez, Robert Redford, Pierce Brosnan and Mary McDonnell, among many others

In addition to creating The WIN Awards show we also produced The WINFemme Film (aka The WIN Film) Festival and an ABC Special entitled 50 YEARS OF FUNNY FEMALES.

Find additional information at the complete history of WIN see For more information contact Joy Tuttle at 310-229-5365 or email

Source:Women's Image Network
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Moca, Friends, Women, Celebrities, Televsion, Film, Advertising, Parity
Industry:Advertising, Arts, Entertainment
Location:Hollywood - California - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share