St. Louis International Film Fest Announces Winners of St. Louis Film Critics’ Joe Pollack Awards

Screenings of winning documentary and narrative features will happen on November 18th.
St. Louis International Film Festival 2012
St. Louis International Film Festival 2012
Spread the Word
Listed Under

Film Festival



Nov. 15, 2012 - PRLog -- In conjunction with the St. Louis Film Critics organization, Cinema St. Louis inaugurated juried competitions for documentary and narrative features at this year’s St. Louis International Film Festival (, which began Nov. 8. The awards are named in honor of the late St. Louis Post-Dispatch critic Joe Pollack. The winning films receive additional screenings on SLIFF’s closing night on Sunday, Nov. 18.

Christian Petzold’s “Barbara” was named Best Narrative Feature, and the jury gave a special citation to actress Rachel Mwanza for her performance in “War Witch.” Fredrik Stanton’s “Uprising” was named Best Documentary Feature, and the jury gave a special citation to Amie Williams’ “We Are Wisconsin.”

The jury statements will be read at SLIFF’s Closing Night Party and Awards Ceremony at 8 p.m.-midnight Sunday, Nov. 18, at the Contemporary Art Museum St. Louis, 3750 Washington Blvd. SLIFF’s other juried awards and audience-choice winners will be announced at the event, which is free and open to the public.

“Barbara” is scheduled to screen at 9:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 16, and 6:15 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 18, at Plaza Frontenac Cinema, Lindbergh Boulevard and Clayton Road. Because it was named Best Narrative Feature winner, the film will receive an additional screening at 8:30 p.m. Nov. 18, at Plaza Frontenac.

“Uprising” is scheduled for a free screening at 7:30 p.m. Nov. 18, with director Stanton in attendance, as part of SLIFF’s Human Rights Sidebar. The screening is held at Washington U.’s Brown Hall Auditorium, Forsyth Boulevard and Chaplin Avenue.

To avoid overlapping screenings of “Uprising,” SLIFF will screen special-citation honoree “We Are Wisconsin” in the slot slated for the Best Documentary Feature winner. “We Are Wisconsin” will screen at 8:30 p.m. Nov. 18 at Webster University’s Winifred Moore Auditorium, 470 E. Lockwood Ave.

Tickets for the screenings of “Barbara” and “We Are Wisconsin” are $12 general, $10 for students and Cinema St. Louis members. The screening of “Uprising” is free.

The winners and special-citation honorees were picked by two juries – each composed of four St. Louis film critics and headed by critics working nationally. The jury heads were Charles Taylor (documentary), former Salon film critic and freelance contributor to the New York Times and other publications; and Stephanie Zacharek (narrative), former Salon and Movieline film critic and freelancer for the New York Times, Slate, and other venues.

The narrative jury was Zacharek; Mark Glass, KDHX-FM; Rob Levy, KDHX-FM and; Sandy Olmsted,; and Pete Timmermann, PLAYBACK:stl. The documentary jury was Taylor; Dawn Dixon, KTRS-AM’s “Frank O. Pinion Show”; Cate Marquis, St. Louis Jewish Light and; Kent Tentschert, Webster-Kirkwood Times and South County Times; and Jim Tudor, ZekeFilm.

The eight films competing in the narrative category were “Barbara,” “Caesar Must Die,” “Come As You Are,” “Headshot,” “Las Acacias,” “Sister,” “A Trip,” and “War Witch.” The eight documentary films were “Danland,” “Getting Up,” “The Institute,” “The Invisible Men,” “The Second Execution of Romell Broom,” “Unmade in China,” “Uprising,” and “We Are Wisconsin.”

The fest schedule, ticket information, and a complete list of films (with descriptions) are available at the Cinema St. Louis Web site (

For more information, the public should visit or call 314-289-4150.
Source:Marquee Media and Marketing
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Film Festival, Movies, Hollywood, Film, Documentary
Industry:Movies, Entertainment
Location:United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Marquee Media PRs
Trending News
Top Daily News
Top Weekly News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share