Scott McElhaney Elected Dallas Bar Association President-Elect

Scott McElhaney Elected Dallas Bar Association President-Elect
Spread the Word
Listed Under

* Dallas Bar Association
* Jackson Walker

* Legal

* Dallas - Texas - US

Nov. 8, 2012 - PRLog -- The Dallas Bar Association, a voluntary organization comprised of more than 10,000 lawyers, recently held its Annual Meeting, where the membership elected Scott McElhaney, of Jackson Walker LLP, the President-Elect. Mr. McElhaney will serve as the association’s 105th President in 2014.

Mr. McElhaney was elected to the DBA Board in 2006 and was elected Chair of the Board of Directors in 2010. He has served as Chair of numerous DBA Committees including the Admissions and Membership Committee, Judiciary Committee and the Bench Bar Conference Committee. In addition, he was chair of the 2009-2010 Campaign for Equal Access to Justice and is past chair of the Business Litigation Section. He has also served on the DBA Community Service Fund Board of Directors and on the State Bar’s District 6 Grievance Committee.

Mr. McElhaney has been included in The Best Lawyers in America, named a “Texas Super Lawyer” and listed as one of the “Best Lawyers in Dallas” in D Magazine. He has been a lecturer at SMU’s Dedman School of Law, teaching employment law and legal research and writing.

Mr. McElhaney received his A.B. summa cum laude from Dartmouth College and his J.D. cum laude from Harvard Law School, where he was the managing editor for Harvard Civil Rights—Civil Liberties Law Review. After graduating from Harvard Law School, Mr. McElhaney was a law clerk to Judge Irving Goldberg of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit and to Judge Barefoot Sanders of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Texas.

Mr. McElhaney is active in a number of political and community groups and is a member of the Leadership Dallas Class of 2004. He currently practices in the areas of litigation, appellate law and labor and employment.

Other officers who were elected are: Brad Weber, of Locke Lord LLP, elected first vice-president; and Jerry Alexander of Passman & Jones , P.C., elected second vice-president. Paul K. Stafford, of Carter Stafford PLLC, will serve as immediate past president and Sally Crawford, of Jones Day will serve as president in 2013.
Email:*** Email Verified
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Dallas Bar Association News
Daily News
Weekly News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share