A Twist Of Time - The New Album by David Ireland - Now Out on iTunes, Amazon, Spotify and more...

At last - A Twist Of Time is now available for download across the board. iTunes, Amazon, Spotify and download sites worldwide are now offering David Ireland's quintessential English music for sale.
A TWIST OF TIME 600 x 600
A TWIST OF TIME 600 x 600
Spread the Word
Listed Under

* Alternative
* Avant Blues
* Acoustic Pop
* Acoustic Rock
* Folktronica

* Music
* Entertainment

* Stroud - Gloucestershire - England

* Products

Oct. 31, 2012 - PRLog -- Veteran muso David Ireland was quiet for a couple of decades before launching a new collection of tunes at the 30th Womad Festival in the summer of 2012. Now that collection of tunes is available worldwide on such digital download sites as iTunes, Amazon and a host of other music websites.

The Womad performance marked Dave's return to the performing stage and a UK festival tour for 2013 is in the planning stage.

A Twist Of Time is an eclectic collection of fourteen original tunes, some recorded with Gloucestershire band The Hitch Hoppers, plus sax legend Patsy Gamble,  Rufus Fry and Stephan Merlot. Many of the tracks were recorded acapella, others as multi-tracked solo outings.

The material covers subject matter as diverse as the recession, cult religion, 911, life and death. One of the most striking tracks, 'Barafundle' is a paean to the Pembrokeshire coast , with echoes of a Serge Leoni western theme in the haunting combination of choir, cello and harmonica.

While spare in their arrangements, the tunes on A Twist Of Time are given colour with touches of sitar, melodian and whistle.

Ireland is currently preparing a new set of songs for the next recording sessions. These will combine completely new recordings alongside the recently discovered master tapes from an album recorded in 1978.

Ireland; ' I have carried the tapes with me since my Amsterdam days, not knowing fully what the tapes contained. They are old style analogue twenty-four track tapes that have remained unopened since the 1970s...'.

During the summer of 2012, the tapes were given a digital transfer at Peter Gabriel's Real World Studios in Box. Given the fragile state of these original masters, the tapes were first baked for a week before being expertly transferred to the digital format.

Ireland; 'The sheer astonishment of hearing these thirty-five year old recordings came when we heard two tracks we had forgotten about. I had not heard the recordings since the day we laid down the tracks in 1978. One of the songs, 'Vanessa', was written on the night my first daughter was born and features finger picked guitar, played by me, with a beautiful vocal. This was never released. The other track that we had laid down is called simply 'Home'. Piano based, it has an ecological message. I will be duetting with my younger self on this track. 'Vanessa' will appear as a bonus track in 2013.'

David Ireland is proof positive that music has no boundaries, no restriction. With A Twist Of Time picking up momentum, Dave is simply carrying on from where he left off - playing music that has real meaning for today's audience.

To listen to the album, visit www.davidireland.biz or click on the link below.


Track Listing:

1.   I Can’t Cry
2.   Money Matters
3.   Sure Feels Like The Blues
4.   A Shropshire Lad
5.   Firenze
6.   Curious Café
7.   Time After Time After Time
8.   Barafundle
9.   Red House
10.   The Bridge
11.   Skunk!
12.   New York Broads
13.   Wishes
14.   Keeping The Wolf From The Door

All words and music by David Ireland (© 2012 Double Infinity Publishing
released 24 July 2012
A Twist Of Time is released on Double Infinity Records © 2012

•   Produced, arranged and mixed by David Ireland
•   Associate Producer Sandra Ireland
•   Recorded between April and July 2012 at Get It Together, Stroud
•   Engineer Rob Evans

•   David Ireland: Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards, Percussion
•   Rufus Fry: Harmonica on 1,3,4,8,11,14 Melodian on 5
•   Shane Boothby: Bass on 1,2,9
•   Mark Goudswaard: Guitar on 1,2,9
•   Callum Partridge: Drums on 1,2,9
•   Stephan Marlot: Cello on 8
•   Patsy Gamble: Sax on 7
•   Sandra Ireland: backing vocals on 1
•   Josh Richards: Ukulele on 4
•   Laura Manley: Acoustic Riffs on 7
•   Coco: Ambient Barking on 8

Art Direction and Illustration: Ruben Ireland
Email:***@aol.com Email Verified
Zip:GL5 1AJ
Tags:Alternative, Avant Blues, Acoustic Pop, Acoustic Rock, Folktronica
Industry:Music, Entertainment
Location:Stroud - Gloucestershire - England
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Double Infinity Media News
Daily News
Weekly News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share