Oct. 10, 2012
-- Planning on buying a vehicle at a Central Oregon used car dealers? You’re not alone. As you drive along highway 79 it’s not hard to spot the wide variety of used car dealerships located between Bend Oregon and Prineville Oregon; before you decide to spend your hard earned money on that used vehicle, you’ve been thinking about buying, here are the top three things that you need, to be prepared for, when buying a used vehicle from a dealership in Central Oregon.
Title And Registration
Under Oregon law, any Oregon used card dealership can charge more than $75 for processing the vehicles title, registration and paperwork. Almost every dealer will offer to handle all of the paperwork for you like: the registration and title for the new owner of the used vehicle, but, that owner does have the option of going to the DMV and taking care of all the paperwork themselves.
If the dealer scrapes the tags off the vehicle after it’s sold they must sell a temporary permit that typically costs $15 and gives the new owner of the used vehicle 10 days to get to the DMV to take care of all the vehicles paperwork.
What Happens When Title Isn’t Received?
If an Oregon driver doesn’t receive their vehicles title within 25 days and they know that the Central Oregon used car dealer did receive fees for the title and paperwork, the vehicles new owner can submit a dealer complaint with their local Oregon DMV office. The same type of complaint can also be filed if the owner of the used vehicle doesn’t receive their vehicles license plate and stickers from the DMV within at least 45 days after they purchase the vehicle.
To learn more about how to properly buy a Central Oregon used car and to get the lowest insurance rates for that vehicle, contact the Tye Farnsworth Allstate Insurance Agency today at (541) 318-8835.