News By Tag
News By Location
Sweet Celebration At Murdick’s Fudge Mackinac Island
The Original Mackinac Island Fudge Shop-Murdick's Candy Kitchen Celebrates her 125th Anniversary.
“We want everyone to share in our excitement as we celebrate our 125th anniversary,”
The first 125 customers in each of the five Straits area stores (Mackinac Island, Mackinaw City and St. Ignace) will receive a free slice of fudge. In addition, visitors to the stores will receive a 1/3 slice of fudge to enjoy while shopping. Customers can also pick up limited-edition treats created for the 125th Anniversary, including Triple Chocolate Espresso fudge as well as Almond Brittle.
While Mackinac Island doesn’t claim to have created fudge, Murdick’s Fudge does claim to have started the tradition and perfected this delicious confectionary treat. Fudge making began as Mackinac Island transitioned from a wealthy fur trading post to a famous summer resort. In 1887, as resorts were being planned and constructed, Mackinac's first candy shop, Murdick's Candy Kitchen, opened. It was here that the marble table was first used to make fudge, a process which gave the fudge a unique texture and also provided a great show for visitors. Over the years, music was added along with large ceiling fans to blow the sweet smell of fudge into the street.
The Original Mackinac Island Fudge, since 1887, Murdick’s has been serving fresh homemade fudge, brittle and confections from the finest all-natural ingredients. For more information, and to order online, visit www.murdicks.com.
To plan your Mackinac Island getaway, including a stop at Murdick’s Fudge Mackinac Island, go to www.mackinacisland.org.