Association Executives Of North Carolina Announces 2012 Award Winners, Board Members And Officers

Annual Meeting Recognizes AENC Members For Professional Achievement And Organization Involvement
Spread the Word
Listed Under

* Aenc
* Award Winners

* Business

* North Carolina - US

July 6, 2012 - PRLog -- RALEIGH, N.C.- Jim Thompson, executive director of the Association Executives of North Carolina (AENC) (, has announced the 2012 winners of the organization’s professional awards, which were handed out at AENC’s annual meeting in June, as well as the 2012-2013 officers and board of directors. Each year, AENC presents three awards to association members in recognition of their professional achievement and extraordinary involvement in advancing AENC initiatives. To maintain the integrity of each award, nominations are submitted by AENC’s scholarship and awards committee members, as well as individual nominators. The 2012 award winners are Tina C. Gordon, John Sneed II and Anne Shoemaker.

Tina C. Gordon, CAE, received the James J. Lowry Jr. Award, the highest honor given by AENC. The James J. Lowry Jr. Award recognizes an association’s chief executive officer who exemplifies the best in association management by continually bringing credit to their profession and the association community. The award was named in honor of AENC member Jim Lowry, who passed away in October 2010. Gordon is the CEO of the N.C. Nurses Association and is a member of AENC’s scholarships and awards committee.

John Sneed, II was the winner of the Patsy B. Smith Award, the highest award presented in the affiliate membership category.  The Patsy B. Smith award recognizes outstanding professional conduct and extraordinary service to the community. Patsy B. Smith, the award’s namesake, was the first affiliate member to serve on the AENC board of directors. Sneed is the convention sales manager for the Wilmington and Beaches Convention and Visitors Bureau, and is on the AENC board of directors.

Anne Shoemaker received the Distinguished Service Award, the highest honor AENC can bestow upon a key association staff member, excluding an organization’s CEO. This award recognizes professional achievements and accomplishments of an AENC member within the associate management profession. Anne Shoemaker is the COO of the North Carolina Association of REALTORS® and serves on the AENC board of directors.

AENC officers and directors for 2012-2013 include:
- President: David Field, CAE, FirstPoint Management Resources
- President-Elect: Brent Hazelett, N.C. Academy of Family Physicians
- Secretary/Treasurer: Sharon Bryson, N.C. Association of Certified Public Accountants

AENC directors with terms expiring in 2013 include:
- Bob Slocum, N.C. Forestry Association
- Sheila Leyva, CMP, Grove Park Inn Resort & Spa

AENC directors with terms expiring in 2014 include:
- Anne Shoemaker, NC Association of REALTORS®
- Betsy Bailey, CAE, Professional Engineers of N.C.
- Teresa Evans-Hunter, CAE, National Association OF Academic Advisors for Athletics
- Laura Clark, Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
- Kinsay Sand, Asheville CVB

AENC directors with terms expiring in 2015 include:
- Jerry Baker, PhD, CAE, Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society
- Alec Parker, N.C. Dental Society
- Steve Shore, N.C. Pediatric Society

“The Association Executives of North Carolina is proud to announce this year’s AENC award winners,” said Thompson. “These three individuals have exemplified professionalism and service in every sense. They are truly outstanding men and women who are actively involved in service and leadership, and who serve as leaders for both their organizations and surrounding communities.”

AENC Facebook Page
Association Executives of North Carolina

AENC Twitter Page:

AENC LinkedIn Page:

Established in 1955, Association Executives of North Carolina (AENC) is committed to providing high quality professional development and networking opportunities to help association executives develop to their fullest potential and to foster the recognition and respect of the association management profession. Members include CEOs and staff of associations across North Carolina, as well as representatives from the association service and hospitality industries.

Emily Packard
MMI Public Relations
(919) 233-6600

Posted By:*** Email Verified
Tags:Aenc, Award Winners
Location:North Carolina - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Page Updated Last on: Jul 06, 2012
MMI Public Relations News
Daily News
Weekly News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share