Maurice Jones-Drew Named Alumni's Player of the Year

The 30th Annual Player of the Year Awards took place on Friday, February 3, 2012 at the Scottish Rite in Indianapolis. Alec Baldwin served as the evening’s host as the NFL Alumni honored eight award recipients.
Spread the Word
Listed Under

* Nfl Alumni
* Player Of The Year
* Maurice Jones-Drew
* George Martin
* Alec Baldwin

* Business
* Entertainment
* Sports

* Newark - New Jersey - US

* Awards

Feb. 9, 2012 - PRLog -- NEWARK, NJ — The 30th Annual Player of the Year Awards took place on Friday, February 3, 2012 at the Scottish Rite in Indianapolis and aired Monday, February 6, at 10PM EST on the NFL Network. Alec Baldwin served as the evening’s host as the NFL Alumni honored eight award recipients.

Jacksonville Jaguars running back, Maurice Jones-Drew, walked away with both the Running Back of the Year and the Player of the Year Awards. Jones-Drew is now the two-time reigning Running Back of the Year. He led the league in rushing with over 1,600 yards, even though he routinely faced 8 or more men in the box.

Matthew Stafford, quarterback of the Detroit Lions, was rewarded for leading the Lions to the playoffs for the first time since January 2000. He finished the season with over 5,000 yards and 41 touchdowns. Presenting the Quarterback of the Year was the first ever recipient of the award, Hall of Fame quarterback Dan Fouts.

NFL Alumni premiered a new award, Lifetime Achievement, which was presented to Randall Cunningham for twenty years of charitable service and dedication to his community. Cunningham was the first dual threat quarterback giving way to today’s stars Michael Vick, Tim Tebow, and Cam Newton. Although his accomplishments on the filed were great, it was his off-field endeavors that made Cunningham deserving of the Lifetime Achievement Award. Once retiring from football in 2001, Cunningham became an ordained pastor for a nondenominational church he founded, Remnant Ministries. He still relishes Sundays, but for different reasons now. Cunningham continues to worship the Lord and has realized “it’s not what you do in front of people that matters, but rather behind the stage that exemplifies who you are as an individual.”

Other award winners include Wide Receiver of the Year, Hakeem Nicks presented by Hall of Fame member Lynn Swann and Iron Chef Marc Forgione, Lineman of the Year, Chris Long, Linebacker of the Year, Aldon Smith and Defensive Back of the Year Brent Grimes.

Special thanks to our celebrity presenters, Alumni presenters and our sponsors for making the 30th NFL Alumni Player of the Year Awards show an incredible event.

Entertainment Presenters: Vivica A. Fox, Stephen Baldwin, Quinton Aaron, Patrick Warburton, Keith David, Alec Baldwin, Marc Forgione, and Nick Lachey.

NFL Alumni Presenters: Lem Barney, Dan Fouts, Frenchie Fuqua, Charles Haley, Lynn Swann, Rickey Jackson, Jim Taylor, and Randall McDaniel.

Sponsors: Allstate, Citi, Patron, Tiffany & Co., ProntoJet, 16W, ECO Enrico and American Airlines

Production Company: ENVY Digital Entertainment

For more information, contact NFLA Communications Assistant, Matt Fox at or 973-210-7191.

About NFL Alumni

The NFL Alumni is comprised of two distinct non-profit membership organizations: the NFL Alumni Association and NFL Alumni Foundation. The NFL Alumni serves its retired player members and their families through the NFL Alumni Association and supports youth and community charities through NFL Alumni Foundation.

For more information, please visit
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Nfl Alumni, Player Of The Year, Maurice Jones-Drew, George Martin, Alec Baldwin
Industry:Business, Entertainment, Sports
Location:Newark - New Jersey - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share