If You Like Monty Python… Here Are over 200 Movies, TV Shows, and Other Oddities That You'll Love

From its television show to its movies, Monty Python has owned the absurd side of comedy since its debut. But there’s a finite supply of Monty Python in the world, and once you’ve finished going through that, what happens next?
 
Dec. 29, 2011 - PRLog -- Hal Leonard Performing Arts Publishing Group continues its pop culture connectivity series If You Like with the newest volume, If You Like Monty Python… (Limelight Editions, $16.99) by Zack Handlen. From its perfectly insane television show to its consistently irreverent and riotous movies, Monty Python has owned the zany and absurd side of comedy since its debut and has a massive following to prove it. But there’s a finite supply of Monty Python in the world, and once you’ve finished going through that supply, what happens next? In a world of dwindling video stores—and instructive video store clerks—If You Like Monty Python… guides you through over 200 films, television shows, books, and other material that will satisfy your Python withdrawal. If you have graduated from the Ministry of Silly Walks and want more, this book is for you.

   If You Like Monty Python… navigates readers through Python’s influences from Charlie Chaplin to the Flying Circus’s predecessor on British television, At Last the 1948 Show. Handlen also looks at Python’s contemporaries, other works by the individual Pythons, and those inspired in some way by Monty Python including mockumentaries like The Office and satirists like George Carlin. The book also includes useful appendixes like “Famous Monty Python Quotes, and How to Use Them” and “Master Lists of Musts for Python Addicts.”

       Zack Handlen (Portland, ME) spends his free time watching TV and movies and taking copious notes. His work can be seen online and in The Onion’s AV Club, where he reviews television shows, books, and film. He is available for interview.
End
Source:Limelight Editions
Email:***@halleonard.com Email Verified
Phone:973-337-5034
Zip:07042
Tags:Monty Python, Limelight Editions, Comedy, Film
Industry:Publishing
Location:Montclair - New Jersey - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Hal Leonard Performing Arts Publishing Group News
Trending
Daily News
Weekly News



Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share