5 Chicago Leadership Teams to Be Honored With Equality Medals

Vision 2020, a national project working to achieve gender equality, announces the 2011 recipients of Equality in Action Medals—awards that recognize shared professional leadership among Chicago women and men.
Spread the Word
Listed Under

Shared Leadership
Ariel Investments
Goodman Theatre
Kirkland Ellis
Glencoe Schools


Chicago - Illinois - US

Sept. 28, 2011 - PRLog -- Vision 2020, a national project working to achieve gender equality, announces the 2011 recipients of Equality in Action Medals—awards that recognize shared professional  leadership among Chicago women and men.

Vision 2020 is a national initiative of the Institute for Women’s Health and Leadership at Drexel University College of Medicine.

Institute Director and Vision 2020 Founder Lynn Yeakel said, “The effectiveness of the selected teams demonstrates what is possible when leadership is shared and exemplifies what Vision 2020 is striving to achieve. We are proud to honor these women and men with Vision 2020 Equality in Action Medals.”

The medal recipients will be recognized at 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, Oct. 12, in Chase Tower Auditorium during Vision 2020’s Second Annual Congress. The Congress, Oct. 11-13, will bring together Delegates from 50 states as well as National Ally organizations to develop strategies to achieve gender equality by the year 2020, the centennial of American women’s voting rights.

The 2011 Chicago honorees, who represent the areas of finance, education, arts and culture, law, and business are:
•   From Ariel Investments, Chairman, CEO & Chief Investment Officer John W. Rogers, Jr. and President Mellody Hobson.
A nominator wrote: “This pair is an excellent case of a male mentoring and sponsoring a younger woman and helping to develop her career… Both Mellody and John are incredible examples of leadership in the business and civic world.”
•   From Glencoe School District #35, Superintendent Cathlene A. Crawford, and Director of Finance & Operations Jason A. Edelheit.
The nominator said: “Dr. Crawford embraced the concept of building a team by hiring the smartest and most collaborative people she could find … Dr. Crawford is starting her 14th year as a Superintendent, and has had Mr. Edelheit by her side for 4 years.”
•   From Goodman Theatre, Executive Director Roche Schulfer and Director of Development Dorlisa Martin.
A nominator wrote:“The continued success of Goodman Theatre in presenting a culturally diverse and thought provoking series of productions on its stages, as well as providing opportunity for new talent can be attributed in many ways to the collaborative effort of Roche and Dorlisa … It truly is a joint effort.”
•   From Kirkland & Ellis LLP, Partner Howard Krane and Partner Emily Nicklin.
Their nominator wrote: “Howard is recognized as having been a leading supporter and mentor of a generation of powerful female attorneys who, in turn, have gone on to leadership positions within Kirkland and the legal profession. Emily has continued Howard’s mission by fostering the careers of female attorneys at Kirkland.”

•   From McDonald’s, President and Chief Operating Officer Don Thompson and from McDonald’s USA, President Jan Fields.
Thompson and Fields’ nominator described the pair by writing:  “This man and this woman exemplify the true power of shared leadership in 21st century American business.”

Vision 2020 called for nominations from the Chicago metro-area and received recommendations across a range of professions. The recipients were chosen by a national panel composed of Vision 2020 National Office representatives, Vision 2020 Visionary Delegates and National Allies, along with members of the Vision 2020 Chicago Host Committee, which was instrumental in planning this year’s annual Congress.

The medal recipients will be recognized during Kudos & Comedy, an afternoon program  at 4:30 p.m. in Chase Tower Auditorium on Oct. 12.  Vision 2020’s second annual congress is titled Vision + Action = Equality in Motion.

Tickets to Kudos & Comedy are free, but reservations are required. To reserve a seat for Kudos & Comedy, visit http://drexel.edu/vision2020/conversation/register/.

Along with the Equality in Action Medal recipients, Vision 2020 will also honor three national leaders during the Kudos & Comedy program.

Hall of Fame Olympic Gold Medalist and Women’s Basketball Coach Dawn Staley will receive the Pioneer Award for her contributions to youth education and development. Co-Founder of the Elizabeth Cady Stanton Trust and descendant of Elizabeth Cady Stanton Coline Jenkins will receive the Legacy Award. National NPR Correspondent Mara Liasson will receive the Visionary Award.

Following the awards, renowned improv troupe The Second City will perform.

The event will be followed by a reception, where Vision 2020 Delegates—women leaders from all 50 states—sponsors, Chicago community leaders, and Vision 2020 medal recipients will have the opportunity to exchange ideas.

About Vision 2020
Vision 2020 is working to make equality a national priority through shared leadership among women and men. Its first public event was held Oct. 21-22, 2010, when a congress of national delegates, representing all 50 states and the District of Columbia, gathered at the
National Constitution Center in Philadelphia to launch a campaign to move America toward equality by 2020, the centennial celebration of the 19th Amendment. Vision 2020 is a project of Drexel University College of Medicine's Institute for Women's Health and Leadership.

Vision 2020’s Sponsors
The Penn Mutual Life Insurance Company is the Presenting Sponsor of Vision 2020. The Exelon Foundation is a Visionary Sponsor. Northern Trust and JPMorgan Chase & Co. are sponsors of the 2011 Chicago Annual Congress.

Like PRLog?
Click to Share