The Balzan Prizes 2011: History, Enlightenment, Bioinformatics and Astrophysics

The Announcement to be held in Milan on 5 September
Spread the Word
Listed Under




June 29, 2011 - PRLog -- Milan, June 29, 2011 - The four Balzan Prizewinners for 2011 will be officially announced in Milan on 5 September, 2011. The General Prize Committee of the Balzan Foundation "Prize", chaired in Milan by Salvatore Veca, and whose British members include Charles J. Godfray and Quentin Skinner, has already announced the subject areas for the 2011 Balzan Prizes:

- Ancient History (The Graeco-Roman World)
- Enlightenment Studies
- Theoretical Biology and Bioinformatics
- The Early Universe (From the Planck Time to the First Galaxies).

The Balzan Prize is unique among international awards in recognising, on an annual basis, particularly relevant, innovative and specific research carried out in two broad categories: 1) Literature, Moral Sciences and the Arts, and 2) Physical, Mathematical and the Natural Sciences and Medicine. Consequently, the Balzan Prize aims to promote the humanities and the sciences across all fields of knowledge.
The amount of each prize is 750,000 Swiss francs. Prize winners are required to earmark half of the sum for the financing of research projects preferably conducted by young scientists and scholars.

UK Balzan Prizewinners

2009   Terence Cave - Literature since 1500
2007   Rosalyn Higgins - International Law since 1945
2006   Quentin Skinner - Political Thought; History and Theory
2005   Peter and Rosemary Grant - Population Biology
2005   Peter Hall - Social and Cultural History of Cities since 16th entury
2004   Michael Marmot - Epidemiology
2004   Colin Renfrew - Prehistoric Archaeology
2003   Eric Hobsbawm - European History since 1900
2000   Martin Litchfield West - Classical Antiquity
1999   John Elliott - History, 1500-1800
1998   Robert McCreadie May - Biodiversity
1997   Thomas Wilson Meade - Epidemiology
1994   Fred Hoyle (+ Martin Schwarzschild - Germany)
    - Astrophysics (Evolution of Stars)
1991   Maynard Smith - Genetics and Evolution
1989   Martin Rees - High Energy Astrophysics
1987   Richard W. Southern - Medieval History
1985   Ernst H.J. Gombrich (UK/Austria) - History of Western Art
1982   Kenneth Vivian Thimann - Pure and Applied Botany
1981   Dan P. McKenzie + Drummond H. Matthews + Frederick J. Vine
    - Geology and Geophysics

International Balzan Foundation
Press office
Marcello Foresti
Piazzetta Umberto Giordano 4
20122 Milan, Italy
T +39 02 7600 2212  
M +39 334 1687 132

Mag. Raphaela Spadt

PR&D - Public Relations für Forschung & Bildung

T +43 1 505 70 44
F +43 1 505 50 83

Mariannengasse 8
1090 Vienna, Austria
Source:PR&D - Public Relations for Research & Education
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Balzan, Prize
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share