Special Award Recipients for the 37th Annual Saturn Awards: Feige, Darabont, Devlin, and Biehn

The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films announces four special awards which will be bestowed at the 37th Annual Saturn Awards to Kevin Feige (Marvel Studios President), Frank Darabont (Walking Dead), Dean Devlin, and Michael Biehn.
By: M4PR
May 23, 2011 - PRLog -- The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films has announced four special awards which will be bestowed at the upcoming 37th Annual Saturn Awards.

The organization will honor Marvel Studios President Kevin Feige with The Visionary Award for his exceptional work in producing successful films based on characters originating from the Marvel Comics Universe. Under Kevin’s leadership, Marvel Studios has become a true leader in the production and release of quality genre entertainment.  Beginning with the successful launch of Thor by Paramount Pictures, we will see the release of no fewer than three films this summer under the Marvel Studios banner.  Previous Marvel Studios film releases include Spider-Man, The Incredible Hulk, X-Men, Iron Man, The Fantastic Four, Thor, the upcoming Captain America and next year’s The Avengers.  Past recipients of the Visionary Award are James Cameron and Jeffrey Katzenberg.

Frank Darabont, the creator of the AMC hit television series, “The Walking Dead,” will be receiving the coveted George Pal Memorial Award.  Frank has successfully transcended the horror genre and created a gripping and powerful series, which takes place in a world besieged by a legion of zombies.  The series debuted with high ratings and has maintained a high quality of writing and development of characters throughout the first season.  Frank has written and directed episodes of this series.  “The Walking Dead” has also been nominated for 6 Saturn Awards.  The George Pal Memorial Award is bestowed upon a producer/director who has achieved, and brought quality to, genre entertainment in the tradition of filmmaker George Pal, who produced and/or directed such classic films as War of the Worlds and The Time Machine.   

Dean Devlin will be receiving the Dr. Donald A. Reed Founder’s Award named after our esteemed Founder, Dr. Donald A. Reed, who passed away ten years ago.  Dean is a successful producer of big box office films including Independence Day, The Patriot, Godzilla, and Flyboys.  He has also produced several successful television projects for TNT which includes “The Librarian,” starring Noah Wyle.  He is currently the Executive Producer of the highly successful series, “Leverage.”  Dean has been a strong supporter and champion of quality genre film and television his entire life.  His love of the genre is on the same level as our late Founder and leader, Dr. Donald A. Reed.  It is with great respect and affection that we honor Dean Devlin this year with this special award.

Michael Biehn, actor and science fiction/action icon, will be receiving the prestigious Life Career Award for a body of work that spans the galaxy -- whether he's Kyle Reese, a solider from the future, sent back to save Sarah Connor in James Cameron's "Terminator,” fighting alongside Sigourney Weaver in "Aliens," diving into otherworldly mysteries of the deep in "The Abyss," Biehn's impactful performances stand toe-to-toe with the dazzling Special FX.  His work has also transcended other genres such as the Westerns "Tombstone" and TV's "The Magnificent Seven," Thrillers like "Deadly Intentions” and "Rampage," as well as Action/Adventure and Horror such as "K2," "The Rock," and "Grindhouse."   Next, he will be staring in the apocalyptic thriller "The Divide" and "The Victim" (alongside his wife, Jennifer Blanc-Biehn, which he co-wrote/directed).

About The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Fantasy and Horror Films
The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films was founded in 1972 by Dr. Donald A. Reed to honor, recognize, and promote quality genre entertainment.  The Saturn Awards are known worldwide as the premier honor in the world of film, television, home entertainment, and local stage production.

This year’s 37th Annual Saturn Awards will take place on June 23, at the Castaway in Burbank, California.  Hosting again this year is comedian Jeffrey Ross.  A special tribute will take place honoring founder Dr. Donald A. Reed.  For more info, visit our website: www.saturnawards.org.   Press Credentials will be accepted starting Monday, May 23, 2011.  Press credential information will be available at: http://www.M4PR.com/Publicity/TheSaturnAwards.htm.

Melanie Marquez
VIP@M4PR.com – Celebrity/Talent Red Carpet Requests
Press@M4PR.com - Press Credentials
Email:***@m4pr.com Email Verified
Tags:Awards, Hollywood, Marvel, Scifi, Fantasy, Horror, Fiction, Walking Dead, Comedian
Industry:Entertainment, Event, Non-profit
Location:Hollywood - California - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share