Post-war revival of the championships

The following year, in Milan, the event appears Team Pursuit open to amateur runners. TheWest Germany is the first team that won the team event. The podium is completed by Denmark and theUnion of Soviet Socialist Republics.
Spread the Word
Listed Under

* Cycling Clothing
* Bike Jerseys
* Cycling Shorts
* Discount Cycling Clothing

* Cycling

* Marina Del Rey - California - US

May 18, 2011 - PRLog -- The world championships are reappearing in Zurich in 1946 the countries of the Union Cycliste Internationale, the Switzerland. Two new events were introduced in this edition. This is the Individual pursuit which is given to professional riders, a distance of 5000 meters and amateur 4000 meters. The twelve editions between 1946 and 1957 in the championships Rocourt Belgium are run as often, the European continent. They are also the last championship open only to men.

The former world champions are tracking the Dutch Gerrit Peters for professional racing and French Roger Rioland for running an amateur. This period is also an opportunity for the Italian track cycling itself on the world stage. With 24 titles in twelve editions latter far outstrip the English and the French title whose number is eight and the Dutch and Belgians with six and five titles. The Europeans are leading the world, but a nation emerges is theAustralia with Sydney Patterson four times world champion. Its titles are distributed over the speed amateur in 1949, continued Amateur in 1950 and two further professional in 1952 and 1953. Graham French also provides a title for his country in 1956 in the bottom half. Denmark with three titles, two of Switzerland and Spain complete with a title nations champions in this period.

It was not until the year 1958 to see the first female on the world championships. The competition takes place in Paris and offers eight disciplines: speed and pursuit for professionals, amateurs and women, and the bottom half for professionals and amateurs gentlemen. The first female in history to be world champions are the Soviets Galina Ermolaeva speed and Ludmila Kochetov in pursuit. These nine events will be present as such until the Championship of Zurich in 1961.

The following year, in Milan, the event appears Team Pursuit open to amateur runners. TheWest Germany is the first team that won the team event. The podium is completed by Denmark and theUnion of Soviet Socialist Republics. All these events take place until the championship San Sebastian Spain. Belgium and the Soviet Union nations are emerging from this period, the first by winning eight titles and the second, tied with Italy, winning seven titles. In contrast, England and France, are more capable force, they won two and one respectively as securities.

In 1966, Frankfurt is run for the first time the rate amateur tandem but also the test of kilometers amateur. It is the same the following year Amsterdam. Exceptionally, in 1968, the amateur and professional championships are no longer played at the same time. The first place to Montevideo, Brazil. The awards are for speed, speed Tandem kilometer, and the individual pursuit and team. As for the professional leagues, they take place in Rome with the speed events and prosecution for men and women, but also the middle-distance professional and amateur. This characteristic of division championships is renewed next year, but most events are organized Brno Czech Republic. Only the speed and professional individual pursuit to take place Antwerp Belgium. That's why they are won by two local runners.

The organization of the championships was found in a conventional structure Leicester in 1970 Varese in 1971 and then San Sebastian in 1973. The eleven tests were conducted in the same period. Almost all of these titles have been won by Europeans, with the exception of the 1971 amateur pursuit where Martín Emilio Rodríguez offers a first world title in his country, Colombia and speed of 1973 women won by an American Sheila Young. The year 1972 is a Olympic year, Gold at that time, only amateur runners are allowed to run. For this reason, only events are organized professional championships in Marseilles. The two women's titles were won by runners Soviets, both are awarded to Belgium, and Germany and Great Britain share a title each.

After more than fifty organizations consecutive on the European continent, the unusually championships exported to Canada Montreal. But unlike recent exports, riders Americans do not sweep the titles, they must settle for a bronze medal in speed of Women. The winners are three titles to the West Germans, two titles for the Czechs, the Soviets and the Dutch and the Danes and the Swiss. But this export outside Europe is not renewed the following year since the 1975 edition held in Belgium Rocourt. The year 1976 marks the Olympic Games even dissociation for amateurs and world championship for professionals. These are held Monteroni Italy. Of the seven titles awarded, two are Dutch. Australia, the United States, Poland, Italy and Germany win a title.

For more information,please visit:

# # #

A huge selection of discount cycling clothes, cycling shorts, bicycle clothes ,men's and women's Cycling Clothing at best prices, safe guarantee and fast delivery 24/7 at
Source:cycling apparel
Phone:(916) 567-2458
Tags:Cycling Clothing, Bike Jerseys, Cycling Shorts, Discount Cycling Clothing
Location:Marina Del Rey - California - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share