Canadian Script Contest Announces Top 50 Screenplays in Competition

David Cormican, founder of the Canadian Short Screenplay Competition, is pleased to announce the quarter-finalist selections for the 2009 CSSC.
CSSC logo
CSSC logo
Spread the Word
Listed Under

David Cormican
Dave Cormican
David Mccormick


Regina - Saskatchewan - Canada

April 15, 2010 - PRLog -- The short list contains the top 50 short film scripts as selected by the judges from all competition entries from 2009.

The semi-finalist top 25 scripts will be announced April 22, 2010 and the top 13 finalists will be announced April 29, 2010, exactly one month prior to the top screenplay and its author to be announced and honoured during the Golden Sheaf Awards gala at the Yorkton Film Festival, May 29, 2010 in Yorkton, SK.

The 2009 CSSC quarter-finalists (in no particular order) are:

“Jimmy in the Swamp of Gin”, Jacob B. Bailey   CAN
“Hostage”, Scott Sullivan   USA
“Like Magic”, Judy Vann   USA
“The ‘Killer’ Killing”, Katrina Nicholson   CAN
“Bentley Burnout”, Allison McWood      CAN
“Golden Boys”, Alison Ross   CAN
“Minus Lara”, Surita Parmar   CAN
“The East Room”, Richard Knight   CAN
“8-Ball”, Kris Samraj   CAN
“A Wake”, Gordon Gammie   CAN

“Sparkly Pink”, Julie Keck   USA
“Nicoel”, Daniel Audet   CAN
“Trap Wax and Sumac Berries”, Kathy Para   CAN
“Just a Push”, Sarah Irvine   CAN
“Catching Stars”, Rebecca Bouchier   AUS
“Trust Me, I’m a Doctor”, Jeff Wong   CAN
“Luck Be A Lady Tonight”, Robert Tomic   AUS
“Publish and Perish”, Mark Whitteveen   USA
“Paul”, Chris Amundson   USA
“Gas”, Lee Balles   UK

“On Apollo 11”, Nick Andert   USA
“Snow”, Kathy-Ann Thomas   CAN
“Standard Procedure, You May Proceed”, Evan Jobb   CAN
“The Old Stay Young”, Chris Raves   CAN   
“Sharon’s Rose”, Patrick Leo Nash   IRE
“Shakespeare’s Brain”, Allison McWood   CAN
“Tainted Love”, J. Jeff Hillard   USA
“The Conductor’s Esscort”, Carolynne Ciceri   CAN
“Something Pointless”, Neil Graham   UK
“Writer’s Block”, Sam Patterson   CAN

“Cheat ‘Em Fair”, Carey Westbrook   USA
“Those Forgotten”, Evan Jobb   CAN
“Secrets”, Tim Anderson   USA
“The Kicker”, Jag Dhadli   CAN
“Ten Year’s Hard Time”, Michael MacDonald   USA
“Dinner and a Movie”, James Eric Anzalone   USA
“Cards”, Alana Straitton   CAN
“Changing Times”, Lee Riley      CAN
“The Receptionist”, Sheila Erdmann   CAN
“The Most Important Man in the World”, Steven Mayoff   CAN

“The Dumb Covenant”, Martin Happer   CAN
“When Vengeance Comes Knocking”, Jomo Merritt    USA
“Earwig & Santa Claus”, Michael Miller   JPN
“Yin & Yang”, Dianne Dempsey, AUS
“The Block”, Matthew Kaufhold   USA
“Stalker: A Love Story”, Pamela Nash   USA
“Angel Gabrial”, Tony Longo   USA
“Keemo The Archer”, Mark Winzer   USA
“Thank You For Holding”, Sarah Irvine   CAN
“Ashes to Anthrax”, Cat Stewart   USA

# # #

About The Canadian Short Screenplay Competition (CSSC)
The Canadian Short Screenplay Competition, administered by Year of the Skunk Productions (Regina), and established in 2008, is the premiere script contest for short film screenplays. CSSC is the single-most competitive, prestigious, short screenplay festival in Canada, a champion for screenwriters everywhere and a launching pad for writers’ professional careers.

Source:Canadian Short Screenplay Competition
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Cormican, Award, Win, Nomination, Nominee, Nominated, David Cormican, Dave Cormican, David Mccormick, Script, Contest
Industry:Arts, Entertainment, Movies
Location:Regina - Saskatchewan - Canada
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share