Wall Street Journal team cashes in on credit crisis

15 reporters from the Journal garner $10,000 award for excellent economic reporting
Becky Mowbray of Times-Picayune accepts 2008 Award for Excellence in Economics
Becky Mowbray of Times-Picayune accepts 2008 Award for Excellence in Economics
Spread the Word
Listed Under

* Journalism
* Awards
* Prizes
* Wall Street Journal
* Institute On Political Journalism
* Ipj
* Fund For American Studies

* Journalism
* Awards
* Prizes

* Washington - District of Columbia - US

April 29, 2009 - PRLog -- Washington, D.C. - A talented corps of 15 reporters at the Wall Street Journal won the Institute on Political Journalism's prestigious Excellence in Economic Reporting Award for 2009.  Their 10 articles described the turning points to last fall's Wall Street crash and the ensuing global credit crunch.

The WSJ team will be awarded $10,000, one of the largest prizes in journalism, and a bronze eagle-head statue crafted by the late Jeff MacNelly, famous political cartoonist.

This annual award normally goes to an individual or small group of reporters who craft a specific series of articles demonstrating the working of one area of business and markets.  However the judges found that the scope and drama of the credit crisis warranted the small army of reporters that was deployed by the Journal editors.  

"Their coverage was detailed, dramatic, precise and contained too many revelations to count," said Rich Thomas, retired Newsweek reporter, who chaired the judges panel.  The other judges were Mike Ruby, former editor of U.S. News and World Report, and John Merline, former Washington Bureau Chief of Investor’s Business Daily and USA Today editorial writer.

Reporters authoring or co-authoring one or more of the articles were Kara Scannell, Susanne Craig, Carrick Mollenkamp, Serena Ng, Aaron Lucchetti, Deborah Solomon, Dennis K. Berman, Jon Hilsenrath, Damian Paletta, Mark Whitehouse, Ianthe Jeanne Dugan, E.S. Browning, David Enrich, Jeffrey McCracken, and Kate Kelly.

The WSJ was picked over 50 other outstanding entries.  Among the competition, the judges cited a series by The Washington Post on the world food crisis last year, reported from Iowa to Africa, as an "especially fine" achievement.

IPJ will present the economic award during a press conference in Washington, D.C. this summer along with other two awards it sponsors: The Clark Mollenhoff Award for Investigative Reporting and the Robert Novak Collegiate Award. To learn about the awards please visit: http://www.tfas.org/Page.aspx?pid=265

# # #

The Institute on Political Journalism is sponsored by The Fund for American Studies a Washington, D.C. educational nonprofit. IPJ is one of five internship programs for college students administered in partnership with Georgetown University. For more information, visit http://www.dcinternships.org/ipj.
Source:The Institute on Political Journalism
Email:***@tfas.org Email Verified
Tags:Journalism, Awards, Prizes, Wall Street Journal, Institute On Political Journalism, Ipj, Fund For American Studies
Industry:Journalism, Awards, Prizes
Location:Washington - District of Columbia - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share