Morton Grove Action Party Sweeps Five Seats in Municipal Election

In the April 7 municipal race, the Morton Grove Action Party swept all five Village Board seats (Village President, Village Clerk, and three Trustee positions) that were up for election.
Spread the Word
Listed Under

* Politics
* Open source

* Morton Grove - Illinois - US

April 8, 2009 - PRLog -- “Morton Grove voters spoke loudly at the polls today,” said Mayor-elect Daniel J. Staackmann, whose Action Party candidates swept all five Village Board seats up for election.  Staackmann’s running mates, Tony S. Kalogerakos, Daniel P. DiMaria, Larry Gomberg, and Bill Grear were elated at the outcome.  “Residents are looking for real vision for our community, and we feel positive that is something we can provide,” DiMaria added.

Rick Krier, running for his second term as mayor, conceded the election in a telephone call on Tuesday evening.  Caucus Party Trustee Georgianne Brunner stopped by the Action Party’s post-election get-together and wished Staackmann and his newly-elected Board all the best.

Action Party headquarters, 6005 W. Dempster, was filled to capacity as ardent supporters waited for election numbers from the Village’s precincts to trickle in shortly after the polls closed at 7 p.m.  Vote totals were slow in coming in from several precincts, but it was soon evident that residents had overwhelmingly chosen Action Party candidates over their Caucus Party counterparts.  “During the campaign, our opponents alleged that we didn’t know the issues, but obviously our residents knew that was a false claim and honored us with their votes,” Staackmann said.  He further explained, “As we campaigned door-to-door in the Village, we heard what was on the minds of our neighbors.  We listened to them and provided concrete proposals that we will work towards for the betterment of everyone in the Village.”  

An emotional Grear, president of the Action Party over the last four years, thanked all residents of the Village, “for their faith and support of the Action Party.”

Political newcomer Kalogerakos was thrilled to come out on the winning side in his first bid for office.  “I’m so glad for the Action Party.  This organization is filled with dedicated individuals who truly care about the Village.”

All five newly-elected Board members acknowledged that one of the toughest challenges facing the Village will be economic revitalization, in light of the current economic climate.  “Municipalities everywhere are struggling,” Gomberg stated.  “We will have to take it one day at a time.”

Staackmann dedicated Tuesday’s win to former Mayor Daniel D. Scanlon.  Scanlon, who was present at the post-election festivities, was moved by the ovation from the large crowd in attendance.

Staackmann, Kalogerakos, DiMaria, Gomberg, and Grear will be sworn in at a later, regularly-scheduled Board Meeting, possibly as early as May 11, 2009.  Election results must be certified by the Cook County Clerk’s office before the swearing-in ceremony can take place.

The Action Party, a grassroots Morton Grove-based political party, prides itself in the fact that its members are non-partisan – Democrats, Republicans, and Independents – who are dedicated to providing the Village of Morton Grove with experienced, independent, and dedicated leadership.

Look for more information about the Action Party of Morton Grove on our website at:
Source:Action Party of Morton Grove
Industry:Politics, Open source
Location:Morton Grove - Illinois - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share