1. Latest News
  2. Submit Press Release
  1. PR Home
  2. Latest News
  3. Feeds
  4. Alerts
  5. Submit Free Press Release
  6. Journalist Account
  7. PRNewswire Distribution

16 members of Authors Guild of Tennessee to be at Lenoir City Arts and Crafts Festival, June 7-8


 
PRLog - Jun. 3, 2014 - KNOXVILLE, Tenn. -- Sixteen members of the Authors Guild of Tennessee will offer approximately 45 different titles for sale at the 52nd Lenoir City Arts and Crafts Festival to be held on Saturday, June 7th, from 9 A.M. - 5 P.M., and  Sunday, June 8th, from 10 A.M. - 4 P.M.

All books will be signed by the authors who will be present at various times during the weekend to talk about their work.  The group's writings include many different genres:  family stories, historical fiction and non-fiction, mysteries, children's lit, science-fiction, poetry, and spiritual/religious subjects.

Irish-born Robert Cranny has written movingly about hardships in his native country growing-up. The late Frank McCourt (Angela's Ashes), a friend of his, raved about Cranny's, The Storm, writing, "It is a family story ─ lyrical and hard, filled with compassion and leavened with a ready good humor you'll find in the back streets of Dublin."

Science-Fiction author Sam Bledsoe has authored an imaginative tale about the last three Senoobians whose planet has been destroyed and come to earth to live among humans.

Dick Cross, a former member of CIA physical security team, expounds on his theory of the assassination of President Kennedy.

Laura Derr's historical novel about the impact of the Kentucky Tobacco Wars in the early 1900s centers on her own family through three generations.

Jody Dyer's book is her personal story of the trials of adopting a child told with spirit and humor.

Susan Dorsey has written engrossing, classically-styled murder mysteries set in Knoxville, that keep the reader guessing to the end.

Janet Greer's When You Hear a Siren for children honors the memory of her fire-fighter father.

BJ Gillum writes well-crafted mysteries and high adventures set in the south, with a large dose of humor.

Four educator/authors will be at the Festival:  Dr. Jan Hahn has written lyrical poetry for adults, as well as a Spanish/English illustrated book for children; Dr. Carroll Helm explores the paradoxes and mysteries in the Bible and in spirituality.  Tim Holder has written several provocative fiction and non-fiction books about politics and education.  Dr. Art Stewart has examined the beauty and inspiration of science in his award-winning poetry.

Marilyn Smith Neilans has written a bittersweet account of her mother's stay in a nursing home just before her passing.  In coming together, the siblings need to pick their way through the minefield of family relationships, as well to deal with tone-deaf personnel in the facility and its sometimes unreasonable regulations.

Don Pardue, who grew up in Loudon, has written several true-life novels of family life in hard economic times in this area from the 1930s forward.

Cheryl Peyton has written a thriller about the daring theft of a nuclear weapon from Y-12 and a series of light-hearted murder mysteries featuring tour operator Alex Trotter who becomes an amateur sleuth; in the tradition of "Murder, She Wrote."

Adele Roberts has written a series of children's books about her character Sammy the Skunk who gives morality lessons for youngsters.

The Authors Guild of Tennessee is committed to encouraging reading in Tennessee through the promotion of their entertaining and informative books, as well as visiting schools to read children's stories to the early grades.   Stop by the AGT tents at the Lenoir City Arts and Crafts Festival to browse through their inventory and meet the authors.

Contact
Cheryl J Peyton
***@aol.com

--- End ---

Click to Share

Contact Email:
***@aol.com Email Verified
Source:Authors Guild of Tennessee
City/Town:Knoxville - Tennessee - United States
Industry:Arts, Home
Tags:Books, local authors
Shortcut:prlog.org/12331893
Disclaimer:   Issuers of the press releases are solely responsible for the content of their press releases. PRLog can't be held liable for the content posted by others.   Report Abuse

Latest Press Releases By “

More...

Trending News...



  1. SiteMap
  2. Privacy Policy
  3. Terms of Service
  4. Copyright Notice
  5. About
  6. Advertise
Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share