1. Latest News
  2. Submit Press Release

Attacking Christians Is The 'New Politically Correct' - Author John DeFilippis Issues Statement

Dr. John DeFilippis, author of 3 fantasy fiction books written for Christian readers believes it is time for Christians everywhere to take a stand to defend their Christian belief system and religious freedom, or it could be gone from society forever

 
 
Author John DeFilippis
PRLog - May 15, 2014 - WILMINGTON, N.C. -- From the White House to national television networks to the Middle East and beyond, to wage attack on Christians seems to have become the only safe, 'politically correct' position. Dr. John DeFilippis believes that the time has come for Christians to take a stand to protect their religious freedom.

In a piece by Todd Starnes, recounted on the Fox News website, HGTV recently pulled "Flip It Forward" from the lineup after David Benham, co-host of the show in production and son of evangelical pastor Flip Benham, was labeled an "anti-gay extremist". According to Starnes, gay rights activists accused the evangelical Christian hosts of being anti-gay as well as “anti-choice” for their stance on abortion.

Another article by Benjamin Weinthal discussed a recent report by the United States Commission on International Religious Freedom in which it was revealed that "Christians are under seige in the Middle East." The report showed that the number of Christians in the Middle East is now at 10 percent of the overall population. In 2011 the number was 25 percent. The report also revealed that as of February 2014, 40 Christians were either in prison or had been detained as the result of religious beliefs and/or activities.

"I never thought I’d see the day," DeFilippis stated, "when those who defend the sanctity of life and marriage were labeled 'anti-gay, anti-choice extremists,' and would stand to lose their livelihood as a result. Not only is America doing nothing to stop Christian persecution abroad, but our nation is also facilitating it right here at home. History is coming full circle, and while there may not be imminent plans to construct a Colosseum and start throwing Christians to the lions, the government, media, and myriad secular progressive groups are attacking us in other ways in an attempt to destroy our reputations, our livelihoods, and our religious freedom. The most frightening part of it all is that they are actually succeeding. If we don't start banding together and fighting back, the Judeo-Christian values on which our nation was built will be gone from our society forever."

Dr. John DeFilippis writes epic fantasy fiction for Christian readers. In the tradition of J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis, his novels bring to mind the adventure and excitement of Jason and the Argonauts, The Odyssey, and the Arthurian legend of the Holy Grail.

‘The Quest of the Thirteen’ and ‘The Birth of Malgyron’ are the first two volumes of DeFilippis’ epic fantasy series titled ‘The Medallion of Mavinor.’ The series starts with thirteen loyal subjects being selected and trained to make an arduous quest to retrieve the long lost Medallion of Mavinor. Together they work against nearly impossible odds— rugged terrain, mythical beasts, death-defying adventures and, worst of all, betrayal in their ranks—in order to complete their mission. In the sequel, an evil plot is hatched to overthrow the king, one that has dire consequences not only for the kingdom of Mavinor, but for the entire world. The heroes of the story are forced to band together and fight to thwart the plot before it is too late.

The just-released third volume of the series, 'The Crusade Against Darkness,' picks up where 'The Birth of Malgyron' left off. When the forces of good finally mobilize in an attempt to reclaim Mavinor, they realize that they cannot afford to fail in their crusade or the world as they once knew it will be gone forever.

Ultimately the novels are about an extraordinary effort to resurrect a kingdom and the faith of its people in a world where that faith is quickly waning. They serve as an allegory for the assault on Christianity in modern-day society. While the work is classified as epic fantasy fiction, traditional Christian values lie at the very heart of the story and Dr. DeFilippis considers himself to be a Christian author. He is a devout conservative Catholic, and an avid supporter of religious freedom in an age of growing secularism.

“Christians today are facing the same challenges as the characters in my books,” DeFilippis said, “and if they don’t wake up and fight back, then they’ll also face the possibility that the world they once knew will be gone forever.”

Dr. John DeFilippis is available for media interviews and can be reached using the information below or by email at jdefilippis@optonline.net. ‘The Quest of the Thirteen’ and the sequel, ‘The Birth of Malgyron’, are available in print, ebook and pdf formats from Crossroad Press. ‘The Quest of the Thirteen’ is also available in audiobook format. More information is available at his website at http://www.drjohndefilippis.com.

About Dr. John DeFilippis:

Dr. John DeFilippis was born on March 9, 1970 in Bayonne, New Jersey. He grew up in the Greenville section of Jersey City, graduating from Our Lady of Mercy Grammar School in 1984. In 1988 he graduated from Saint Peter’s Prep and went on to study at Rutgers College in New Brunswick, New Jersey. After earning his Bachelor of Science degree, Dr. DeFilippis attended the School of Theology at Seton Hall University for three years, from 1993 to 1996. During this time he earned his master’s degree in theology and discerned a call to the Catholic priesthood. After ultimately deciding that he did not have a religious vocation, Dr. DeFilippis transitioned into the field of education.

He taught for four years at both the elementary and secondary levels, and earned a second master’s degree in educational administration. In 2000 Dr. DeFilippis made yet another transition, this time accepting an offer to become an academic administrator at Saint Peter’s University in Jersey City. He would spend the next seven years there, and in 2007 he completed his Ph.D. in educational leadership at Seton Hall University. After finishing his doctoral degree, he accepted an offer to become a director in the Division of Academic Affairs at New Jersey City University.

But through all the years of earning graduate degrees, teaching, and working in educational administration, Dr. DeFilippis never lost sight of his childhood dream. That dream was to become a published author, and through tireless work and relentless persistence, his dream was ultimately fulfilled.

Contact
John DeFilippis
***@heavenonearthsystem.com

--- End ---

Click to Share

Contact Email:
***@heavenonearthsystem.com Email Verified
Source:John DeFilippis
Location:Wilmington - North Carolina - United States
Industry:Books, Entertainment
Tags:john defilippis, author, christian books, epic fiction, quest of thirteen
Shortcut:prlog.org/12323921
Verified Account Email Address
Verified Account Phone Number

Disclaimer:   Issuers of the press releases are solely responsible for the content of their press releases. PRLog can't be held liable for the content posted by others.   Report Abuse

Latest Press Releases By “

More...

Trending News...



Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share