PRLog (Press Release)
Daytona Beach DUI Attorney
- Aug. 12, 2013 - DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. --
When someone is arrested in Florida for a DUI they must request a formal review within 10 days to avoid an automatic suspension of their driver’s license. The Bureau of Administrative Reviews recently created another method to avoid the no driving part of a DUI suspension. When a driver has a breath test result over .08% they can be subjected to a 6 month license suspension administratively. When the driver refuses a breath test they can be subjected to a 12 month suspension the first 90 days without being able to drive at all. The new law allows the driver to request a formal review hearing to challenge the suspension then if they waive the hearing they will get the 6 month or 12 month suspension but will not be subjected to the 30 day or 90 hard suspensions without driving. To qualify for the waiver they must pay a $200 fee, enroll in the first time DUI class (ASEC or Counter Attack in Central Florida), have no prior DUI or DUI related offenses, pay a $12 hardship fee and must be in compliance with the Florida Real ID Act (having a star next to your driver’s license #).
There are advantages and disadvantages to waiving the formal review. The benefits of the formal review are that the officer can be required to testify under oath and if proper procedures are not followed the administrative suspension can be overturned. The disadvantage is that if the suspension is not overturned the driver will be subjected to 30 days without driving on breath tests over .08% and 90 days without driving on refusals. Mistakes do happen and suspensions can be overturned but the burden of proof to sustain a suspension is low. The standard is substantial competent evidence instead of the beyond a reasonable doubt standard we typically see in criminal cases. At this point The Bureau of Administrative Reviews is requiring the formal to be waived within the 10 days to qualify for the hardship without a hard suspension. This makes it more difficult to decide if a formal review is in your best interest because the DUI packet might not be available within the 10 days. If you are accuses of a DUI in Flagler, Seminole or Volusia County contact Daytona Beach DUI attorney Kevin J. Pitts (http://myduiflorida.com
) at 386-451-5112.Photo: