This knew allow would allow any person over the age of 21 to ride a motorcycle without a helmet. On the upcoming Wednesday the Transportation Committee of Tennessee will participate in the voting of two different bills. These bills could end up repelling the helmet laws.
The bill that will be soon reviewed will apply to drivers and passengers who are less than the age of 21. Basically, if you are under 21 you cannot ride if you do not have a helmet.
According WGN Radio,
“Generally, under present law, the driver of a motorcycle, motorized bicycle, or motor-driven cycle, and any passenger on any of these, must wear a crash helmet. This bill specifies that this helmet requirement would only apply to such drivers or passengers who are less than 21 years of age. When required, such helmet must meet certain federal standards.
Additionally, this bill increases the fee for issuing or renewing a motorcycle (Class M) driver license from $17.50 to $19.50 and requires that any funds realized from such $2.00 increase be earmarked and transferred to the bureau of TennCare. The department of health, working with the department of safety, must prepare a report on the number of motorcycle accidents on Tennessee roads and highways involving riders without a helmet and the costs to TennCare to care for such riders, not including accidents in which:
(1) Another driver caused the motorcycle accident;
(2) The driver of the other motor vehicle maintained financial responsibility for such motor vehicle; and
(3) Liability of all parties for such motorcycle accident has not been determined.”
Motorcycle accidents can be very dangerous and end in fatalities. If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident it is necessary to seek legal assistance. Our attorneys will make sure that you are compensated for your suffering. For more information please contact the http://bestaccident-