1. Latest News
  2. Submit Press Release
  1. PR Home
  2. Latest News
  3. Feeds
  4. Alerts
  5. Submit Free Press Release
  6. Journalist Account
  7. PRNewswire Distribution

eSchool Media to stream Iowa Bullying Prevention Summit live

Live streaming of 2012 Iowa Governor’s Bullying Prevention Summit available online

 
PRLog - Nov. 21, 2012 - BETHESDA, Md. -- Des Moines, Iowa — eSchool Media Inc., in partnership with EduVision by JDL Horizons, will be streaming live video coverage of the Iowa Governor’s Bullying Prevention Summit on November 27.

Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds are hosting the summit, which is open to the public. The summit will be held on November 27 at Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines. It will be paid for with funding from the Iowa Department of Education, registration fees, and generous support from the private sector.

The Iowa Governor's Bullying Prevention Summit is intended to raise awareness about the pervasive problem of bullying and to send the strongest possible message that our schools alone cannot stop it, that communities must become more engaged in taking the steps needed to address this issue.

Awareness is growing that what used to be excused as “kids being kids” is more harmful than previously realized. Making threats, spreading rumors, excluding classmates, and hurting someone physically or verbally are examples of behavior that can scar the children who are targeted—even potentially creating a risk factor for suicide. The Summit will address these issues and also how cyber-bullying presents new challenges.

The Bullying Prevention Summit will launch with opening remarks by Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds at 11:00 AM EST, 10:00 AM CST, and 8:00 AM PST, followed by the opening keynote speech to be given by Paul Gausman, Superintendent of the Sioux City School District, entitled “It Takes a Community.” The opening keynote will conclude at 11:45 AM EST, 10:45 AM CST, and 8:45 AM PST.

Rosalind Wiseman, Parenting and Bullying Expert, will deliver a one-hour presentation entitled “Queen Bees and Wannabes: Teaching Social Competency” at 1:30 PM EST, 12:30 CST, and 10:30 PST.

Morning breakout panels—“24/7 Bullying in the Digital Age” and “Schools in the Legal Twilight Zone”—will include keynote speakers followed by a Q and A with panelists. They will start at 12 P.M. EST, 11 AM CST, and 9 A.M. PST. Afternoon breakout panels—“Sick from Bullying” and “The Culture of Mean”—will follow the same format starting at 2:45 P.M. EST, 1:45 PM CST, and 11:45 PST. A conference-wide panel called “Leadership Makes the Difference” is scheduled for 3:45 P.M. EST, 2:45 P.M. CST, and 12:45 P.M. PST.

JDL Horizons, using its flagship Internet streaming solution EduVision, will produce and stream the roundtable events. eSchool Media will accept the stream and deliver the roundtable events to a national audience of nearly 1 million K-12 educators throughout North America and around the world. The stream can be seen live at http://www.eSchoolnews.com/video.

For the full Summit agenda, including all panel discussions and speakers, please visit: https://preventbullying.iowa.gov/.

About eSchool Media
eSchool Media Inc. is a news and information organization delivering print, web, e-mail and video communications to nearly one million K-20 decision makers and influencers throughout North America and around the world. Its information networks provide education-technology content and services for leaders in schools and colleges and help educators successfully use technology and internet to transform education and achieve their educational goals. eSchool News is the flagship publication of eSchool Media Inc., which also includes eCampus News, serving higher education exclusively, and eClassroom News, an electronic publication network for teachers and other classroom practitioners.

With more than 290,000 registered members and more than 500,000 page views a month, eSchool News Online is the No. 1 website for ed-tech daily news and information for K-20 decision makers.

About EduVision by JDL Horizons
EduVision from JDL Horizons is a full-featured video streaming platform and Internet Broadcast Television service that allows you to upload and run your video on your website. It’s fast. It’s easy. It’s simple to use. Virtually no hardware or training is required. And it’s cost-effective: an affordable annual subscription easily within reach of almost any organization or individual – schools, nonprofits, small businesses, associations, and more. Learn more: http://www.eduvision.tv/.

--- End ---

Click to Share

Contact Email:
***@eschoolmedia.com Email Verified
Source:eSchool Media, Inc.
Phone:3019130115
Zip:20814
Location:Bethesda - Maryland - United States
Industry:Education, Technology
Tags:Bullying, conferences
Shortcut:prlog.org/12028317
Verified Account Email Address
Verified Account Phone Number

Disclaimer:   Issuers of the press releases are solely responsible for the content of their press releases. PRLog can't be held liable for the content posted by others.   Report Abuse

Latest Press Releases By “

More...

Trending News...



  1. SiteMap
  2. Privacy Policy
  3. Terms of Service
  4. Copyright Notice
  5. About
  6. Advertise
Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share