1. Latest News
  2. Submit Press Release
  1. PR Home
  2. Latest News
  3. Feeds
  4. Alerts
  5. Submit Free Press Release
  6. Journalist Account
  7. PRNewswire Distribution
BCMusic Logo

Jazz Fusion Band, Smooth Operation, Releases Debut Album After Years Playing Jazz Circuit

This debut release from the Flint, Michigan-based jazz-funk band, Smooth Operation, represents a medley of relaxing grooves and progressive funk. Together, the band has a combined jazz playing experience of over 5 decades.

PRLog - Nov. 12, 2012 - NEW YORK -- This debut release from the Flint, Michigan-based jazz-funk band, Smooth Operation, represents a medley of relaxing grooves and progressive funk. With members’ resumes touting decades-plus jazz, funk and rock playing experience, their creativity and musicianship are finally put to the test with the band’s first commercial release. Constructed with funk rhythms and filled out with jazz progressions, these tracks seamlessly fuse a Detroit sound with worldly influences. ‘Ah Yeah’ was written and recorded throughout 2011-2012 in Metro Detroit.

"Yesteryear’s smooth transcends into today’s operation of jazz." – Kathy Johnson (Greater Flint Arts Council)

"Imagine blending the sounds of jazz, funk and Chicago Step so seamlessly it defies category.” – Hans-Bernd Hulsmann (Smooth Jazz Daily)

After years as an avid jazz listener, Steve Banks took it upon himself to pick up the drums and lead a band to contribute its share to the jazz fusion lexicon and represent the city of Flint in a positive light.  Brett Cimbalik caught the idea and joined as guitarist/synth guitarist and was immediately followed by Raphael Banks on bass, Patrick Nakamura on piano/synthesizer, Bernard Jackson on vocals and Herb McGowan on guitar.  The group regularly toured the Michigan jazz circuit and was the first band from Flint to play the world’s oldest jazz club, Baker’s Keyboard Lounge, in over 40 years.  With a dedicated following and a newly revived jazz scene in Flint, the band took it upon themselves to create their first commercial release.  

In the first two tracks, the band seamlessly blends together boogie and Chicago Step to create a unique sound akin to Earth, Wind & Fire.  The last two tracks explore groundwork laid by such jazz heavyweights as George Gershwin and Herbie Hancock.  Nakamura’s arrangement and Jackson’s soulful vocals on “Summertime” shine new light on the composition while the ten minute long epic “Maiden Voyage” displays the creativity of the band.

TRACK LISTING:     1. Z     2. Ah Yeah     3. Summertime     4. Maiden Voyage


Available on iTunes:

--- End ---

Click to Share

Contact Email:
***@riseup.net Email Verified
Location:New York City - New York - United States
Industry:Music, Arts
Tags:jazz, flint, michigan, funk
Verified Account Email Address
Verified Account Phone Number

Disclaimer:   Issuers of the press releases are solely responsible for the content of their press releases. PRLog can't be held liable for the content posted by others.   Report Abuse

Trending News...

  1. SiteMap
  2. Privacy Policy
  3. Terms of Service
  4. Copyright Notice
  5. About
  6. Advertise
Like PRLog?
Click to Share