1. Latest News
  2. Submit Press Release

A Twist Of Time: David Ireland's Innovative New Album Is Out Now!

UK singer David Ireland has released a stunning new album; A Twist Of Time. Launched at the 30th Womad festival at the end of July 2012 , A Twist Of Time is an innovative collection of 14 original tunes, both entertaining and thought provoking.

PRLog - Sep. 25, 2012 - STROUD, U.K. -- David Ireland has a long history in music. Ireland was Amsterdam based for much of the 70s and 80s and is fondly remembered as a rebel on the European folk circuit with his eclectic mix of acoustic pop, rock and folk-tinged originals.

David toured with Yes, Sparks, Kayak and worked solo too. Performing primarily self penned songs, Ireland gathered a reputation for crisp pop with a lyrical twist.

And then it all went quiet...just for a while.

Now, Ireland is back with a vengeance! The launch of the new album 'A Twist Of Time' is typical of David's audacious approach to life. Never do things by half has become a kind of mantra. (David is also  novelist, broadcaster and artist)

If you're looking for comparisons, think maverick performers. Think Waits, Lucinda, Gabriel, Beatles, Nick Cave, Lovett, Floyd... He's edgy, provocative and with age has come a little maturity (but not too much)

The first airing of A Twist Of Time was at the 30th Womad Festival in Wiltshire. Dave performed the entire album live with backing band The HitchHoppers, a young group of blues based musicians from the Cotswolds. They also feature on some of the album tracks, notably 'I Can't Cry', 'Money Matters' and 'Skunk!'.

Also featured are Rufus Fry, Gloucestershire based harmonica virtuoso and sax legend, award winning Patsy Gamble.

A Twist Of Time is a concept album for the 21st Century. The themes are Time, Money, Life and Death.

Each of the fourteen songs on the album are truly written from the heart.

The tracks were recorded between April and July 2012 over a period of 24 hours in total.
The musicians are all Stroud based and the entire album was recorded and mixed in a small studio at the heart of the town.

So now the album has reached the world at large. A twist Of Time is now available from Amazon as a download.


The link here is for Amazon.com, but A Twist Of Time is available worldwide from an Amazon site near you!

Dave is already recording the follow up to A Twist Of Time which will feature a collection of new tunes and some recently unearthed and unheard recordings from 1977 on which Dave will be duetting with his younger self. But more of that in 2013.

For now, Dave is concentrating on A Twist Of Time. A festival tour is planned for 2013, plus radio and TV gigs across the globe.

Catch Dave while you can. Once seen, never forgotten. Shine on!

•   A Twist Of Time Track Listing:

1.   I Can’t Cry
2.   Money Matters
3.   Sure Feels Like The Blues
4.   A Shropshire Lad
5.   Firenze
6.   Curious Café
7.   Time After Time After Time
8.   Barafundle
9.   Red House
10.   The Bridge
11.   Skunk!
12.   New York Broads
13.   Wishes
14.   Keeping The Wolf From The Door

All words and music by David Ireland (© 2012 Double Infinity Publishing
released 24 July 2012
A Twist Of Time is released on Double Infinity Records © 2012

•   Produced, arranged and mixed by David Ireland
•   Associate Producer Sandra Ireland
•   Recorded between April and July 2012 at Get It Together, Stroud
•   Engineer Rob Evans

•   David Ireland: Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards, Percussion
•   Rufus Fry: Harmonica on 1,3,4,8,11,14 Melodian on 5
•   Shane Boothby: Bass on 1,2,9
•   Mark Goudswaard: Guitar on 1,2,9
•   Callum Partridge: Drums on 1,2,9
•   Stephan Marlot: Cello on 8
•   Patsy Gamble: Sax on 7
•   Sandra Ireland: backing vocals on 1
•   Josh Richards: Ukulele on 4
•   Laura Manley: Acoustic Riffs on 7
•   Coco: Ambient Barking on 8

Art Direction and Illustration: Ruben Ireland

alternative avant blues jazz age retro vintage acapella acoustic pop acoustic rock blues folktronica pop folk psychedelic Stroud

--- End ---

Click to Share

Contact Email:
***@aol.com Email Verified
Source:Greenfield Media
Zip:GL5 1AJ
Location:Stroud - Gloucestershire - United Kingdom
Industry:Music, Entertainment
Tags:alternative, avant blues, acoustic pop, acoustic rock, folktronica
Verified Account Email Address
Verified Account Phone Number

Disclaimer:   Issuers of the press releases are solely responsible for the content of their press releases. PRLog can't be held liable for the content posted by others.   Report Abuse

Latest Press Releases By “


Trending News...

Like PRLog?
Click to Share