1. Latest News
  2. Submit Press Release
  1. PR Home
  2. Latest News
  3. Feeds
  4. Alerts
  5. Submit Free Press Release
  6. Journalist Account
  7. PRNewswire Distribution

Science Fiction Author Announces His Book Was A Finalist In the 2012 International Book Awards

Science fiction author, Gary Caplan is pleased too announce that his book, Talcon Star City has been honored as a "Finalist" of the 2012 International Book Awards in the "Fiction: Science Fiction" category.

 
 
talconstarcity
talconstarcity
PRLog - Sep. 7, 2012 - FARGO, N.D. -- Science Fiction Author Announces His Book Was A Finalist In the 2012 International Book Awards

Science fiction author, Gary Caplan is pleased too announce that his book, Talcon Star City has been honored as a "Finalist" of the 2012 International Book Awards in the "Fiction: Science Fiction" category.

Commodore Robert Sheppard fights to save the peacekeeping Alliance of Worlds from otherworldly aliens in Gary Caplan’s Talcon Star City, the space opera sequel to the award-winning Phoenix Rising.

Somewhere in the future, the universe is filled with hundreds of wild, weird and completely diverse civilizations existing on a myriad of strange and wonderful planets. But amidst all these brave new worlds, are otherworldly enemies intent on control, no matter what it costs them or the universe, and all courageous people must step forward and band together to stop them. That's the premise of Gary Caplan's brilliantly realized Talcon Star City, a story of bravery, revenge, aliens, and interstellar swashbuckling.

Caplan first burst onto the literary scene when he became a finalist in the highly prestigious 2010 Indie Excellence Award for his novel Phoenix Rising, which is also the prequel to Talcon Star City. Honing his craft, Caplan continued to write and went on to win the 2011 Indie Excellence Award in fantasy for his novel Return of the Ancient Ones. With Talcon Star City, he's become even more exhilarating a writer, fashioning a science fiction epic that's also thoughtful and realistic.

Talcon Star City centers on the character of Commodore Robert Sheppard, who, as acting admiral, commands the flagship Phoenix and the 6th fleet. As an esteemed member of the Order of Star Knights, Sheppard is gifted with unusually powerful metaphysical abilities, which he uses to help preserve the hundreds of civilizations in the universe. But there is now unrest in the universe and Sheppard and his other military officials must band together to fight a desperate alien challenge to the peaceful Alliance of Worlds. Lucky for Sheppard, he has his old mentor Garfield, and other allied Star Knights and admirals to help back him up in his fight. But as the plot thickens, the battle escalates. Now Sheppard is facing his old nemesis, the Varlon, who are sworn enemies of the Alliance of Worlds and are intent on expanding their power. But as Sheppard grapples with the evil he already knows, he must also face a group of aliens who are new to him, the fearsome Accads, who have joined with the Varlon and who pose challenging new threats he may be ill-equipped to vanquish. The best hope for the universe is to find the Talcon Star City and gain even more allies against these forces of evil. But time is running out. Can the stalwart heroes win the battle and stop this alien onslaught or is it already too late?

Caplan's sparkling prose and larger-than-life characters make Talcon Star City an incomparable reading experience. "Sometimes unusual alliances are needed to combat deadly enemies," says Caplan, an idea he boldly and entertainingly illustrates. His vision of the future is filled with startling new powers and technologies, all rendered with dazzling skill and humor, from comet-like projective weapons to particle cannonballs and invisible cloaks. Drawing from his own experiences in the military, Caplan gives his futuristic tale a stunning feeling of authenticity, making the interactions between military forces and aliens as plausible and true-to-life as they are exciting and original. Meant to appeal to fans of both Battlestar Galactica and Star Trek, Talcon Star City seems destined for classic status.

Book Information:
Talcon Star City
Author:  Gary Caplan
Publisher: CreateSpace
ISBN: 978-1460966501
Pages: 274
Published: January 2012

About The Author:
Gary Caplan was born in Philadelphia and earned three bachelor’s degrees from the University of Pittsburgh, later earning M.D. and M.P.H. degrees. He serves as a lieutenant colonel and preventive medicine officer in the reserves and has published articles in medical journals. Caplan became interested in reading science fiction and fantasy books as a young man and, after practicing medicine for several years, began to write his own fiction. At first strictly a hobby, his writing flourished and he decided to publish both a science fiction and sword and sorcery novels in his spare time.

For more information, review copies, or interviews please contact:

Gary Caplan
Email: gary.caplan1@gmail.com
Website: http://www.authorsden.com/visit/author.asp?AuthorID=106460
               
Talcon Star City is available for purchase online from the publisher, Amazon.com, BN.com and other online retailers.  Bookstores should contact Ingram for wholesale orders.

Photo:
http://www.prlog.org/11969584/1

--- End ---

Click to Share

Contact Email:
***@bookbuzz.net Email Verified
Source:BookBuzz.net
Location:Fargo - North Dakota - United States
Industry:Books
Tags:science fiction, fantasy, space opera
Shortcut:prlog.org/11969584
Verified Account Email Address
Verified Account Phone Number

Disclaimer:   Issuers of the press releases are solely responsible for the content of their press releases. PRLog can't be held liable for the content posted by others.   Report Abuse

Latest Press Releases By “

More...

Trending News...



  1. SiteMap
  2. Privacy Policy
  3. Terms of Service
  4. Copyright Notice
  5. About
  6. Advertise
Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share