1. Latest News
  2. Submit Press Release

Dallas Chamber Symphony Debuts at Dallas City Performance Hall

A mesmerizing evening with the music of Mozart, De Falla, and Beethoven performed by Dallas Chamber Symphony to launch the new Dallas City Performance Hall’s 2012 season.

_MG_7362 copy_2
PRLog - Sep. 5, 2012 - DALLAS -- The 2012-2013 concert season begins as the Dallas Chamber Symphony presents its grand opening concert -- the premier performance at the newly opened City Performance Hall. On Tuesday, September 18th, hundreds of concertgoers will celebrate the concert venue and Chamber Symphony’s arrival with a champagne toast within the auditorium emceed by Morning Co-Anchor Ron Corning of Daybreak, WFAA’s early morning news show. Led by Maestro Richard McKay, the assembly of first-rate players will then present a magical program featuring Mozart, De Falla and Beethoven with a special performance by mezzo-soprano Laura Mercado-Wright on what promises to be an unforgettable evening of music and friends.

The Dallas Chamber Symphony is a new, cutting-edge ensemble that presents a season of symphony and chamber music concerts with an all-star lineup of orchestral musicians, soloists, and programs with extra musical elements, such as film screenings set to live music. Artistic Director and Principal Conductor Richard McKay (in photo) leads the orchestra, comprised of some of the finest musicians in the Metroplex, many of whom were selected from other prestigious local ensembles. Internationally-renowned violinists Nathan Olson and Jing Wang serve as co-concertmasters.

Says Maestro McKay, “This opening concert in the newly completed City Performance Hall will take full advantage of the acoustically state-of-the-art facility. It was built to provide an exceptional and intimate concert experience, bringing every patron close to the musical action. It is a dream venue for the DCS.”

The debut program includes a passionate performance of Manuel De Falla’s sensual and evocative El Amor Brujo Suite by acclaimed mezzo-soprano Laura Mercado-Wright, who has been hailed by the New York Times as “superb,” “dramatically astute,” and “stunningly agile.” Paired with the jovial and good-humored Overture to Mozart’s Marriage of Figaro and Beethoven’s triumphant Symphony No. 7, this well-rounded program will leave the audience begging for more.


Dallas Chamber Symphony’s Grand Opening Concert
Tuesday, September 18, 2012

City Performance Hall
2520 Flora Street, Dallas, Texas 75201

7:00 p.m. Complimentary Champagne Toast
emceed by WFAA’s Daybreak Co-Anchor Ron Corning

7:30 p.m. Concert
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Marriage of Figaro Overture
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 7 in A Major
Manuel de Falla: El Amor Brujo (Love the Magician) - A Spanish Ballet Suite
featuring Laura Mercado-Wright

Tickets are available between $34 to $64 each. Season subscriptions also available.
Buy Tickets by Phone: (214) 880-0202
Buy Tickets online: www.DallasChamberSymphony.org
Or, Purchase Tickets in the CPH Lobby starting at 6pm.

Launched in September 2012, the Dallas Chamber Symphony is the newest and most exciting professional performance ensemble in North Texas. Led by Artistic Director and Principal Conductor Richard McKay, it is comprised of close to 40 of the finest musicians in the Metroplex, all dedicated to building a chamber orchestra that performs a distinctive balance of programs that include both underrepresented and standard repertory as well as high-quality concerts of contemporary music, staged works, and pieces with extra-musical elements, such as film, actors, dancers, and narrators. The DCS performs at the world-class, state-of-the-art Dallas City Performance Hall in the flourishing Dallas Arts District. The DCS will provide educational and community programming, including an International Piano Competition. For more information, visit www.DallasChamberSymphony.org.

--- End ---

Click to Share

Contact Email:
***@friedmanpr.com Email Verified
Source:Friedman Marketing and Public Relations
Location:Dallas - Texas - United States
Tags:Dallas Chamber Symphony, classical music, City Performance Hall
Verified Account Email Address
Verified Account Phone Number

Disclaimer:   Issuers of the press releases are solely responsible for the content of their press releases. PRLog can't be held liable for the content posted by others.   Report Abuse

Latest Press Releases By “


Trending News...

Like PRLog?
Click to Share