1. Latest News
  2. Submit Press Release
  1. PR Home
  2. Latest News
  3. Feeds
  4. Alerts
  5. Submit Free Press Release
  6. Journalist Account
  7. PRNewswire Distribution
Rhemalda Publishing Logo

Diapers, Dentures, and Dictionaries

Father, Dentist, and Author TJ Robinson has his hands full at home and at work.

 
PRLog - May 29, 2012 - MOSES LAKE, Wash. -- In only a few days, author TJ Robinson’s debut novel, The Academy Defenders – a fantastical adventure for young teens about a secret group of superheroes – will be released to audiences across the world. As a full-time dentist and father of three with a fourth on the way, TJ certainly has a lot to keep him busy.

“I get asked that all the time,” he says with a laugh when asked where he found the time to write his first book. “It’s something I’ve always wanted to do, and then over the last few years that desire grew stronger and stronger. I really don’t know how to explain aside from simply saying I just had to do it. So I started writing on the weekends … or after our kids went to bed … or whenever I had a patient cancel at the office. I’m just lucky I have an amazing wife who has been so supportive and willing to help me pursue my dream.”

According to TJ, being a dentist and a father of three has actually helped TJ with his writing. “The other side of my life has helped make my writing better. Much of the inspiration for the plot for The Academy Defenders came from the bedtime stories I tell my kids each night. And many of the characters were inspired by other students and professors I met during my time at dental school … the villains in particular.”

He’s right. The Academy Defenders is a fun, fast-paced adventure that will quickly find a legion of fans. The academy where the superheroes train is awesome, and the characters that live there are great; funny, scary, and believable. I agree with Tyler Whitesides, author of Janitors, when he called the book, “… a place for fans of Harry Potter and X-Men, delivering action and exciting superpowers."

So, does TJ Robinson have plans for a sequel to The Academy Defenders anytime soon? “Definitely,” he answered. “I’ve just finished the rough draft, and it’s awesome! I’m letting it sit for a few weeks and then I will start on edits - round one. I hope to have it completed as soon as possible.”

Author TJ Robinson grew up in Orem, Utah, where he spent most of his childhood trying to find time to read between homework, karate classes, soccer games, and scouts. His love for the written word and his busy life resulted in countless hours spent hidden beneath the bedcovers with a flashlight and book in hand. After graduating from high school, he spent two years serving as a missionary in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. He then returned home and continued his studies, receiving a B.S. in Business Management at Brigham Young University followed by a Doctorate in Dental Surgery from the University of North Carolina. The Academy Defenders, TJ’s debut novel, began as a bedtime story for his children. He currently resides in Mapleton, Utah, with his wife, his three children, and Roo, their much too friendly beagle.

The Academy Defenders ISBN 978-1-936850-46-4

--- End ---

Click to Share

Contact Email:
***@rhemalda.com Email Verified
Source:Rhemalda Publishing - Emmaline Hoffmeister
Zip:98837
City/Town:Moses Lake - Washington - United States
Industry:Books
Tags:middle grade, young adult, fantasy novel, fantasy publisher, rhemalda publishing
Shortcut:prlog.org/11887279
Disclaimer:   Issuers of the press releases are solely responsible for the content of their press releases. PRLog can't be held liable for the content posted by others.   Report Abuse

Latest Press Releases By “

More...

Trending News...



  1. SiteMap
  2. Privacy Policy
  3. Terms of Service
  4. Copyright Notice
  5. About
  6. Advertise
Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share