1. Latest News
  2. Submit Press Release
  1. PR Home
  2. Latest News
  3. Feeds
  4. Alerts
  5. Submit Free Press Release
  6. Journalist Account
  7. PRNewswire Distribution

US Political Scandals Started With George Washington Says Author S. Thomas Bailey

S. Thomas Bailey, author of the historical fiction novel ‘The Gauntlet Runner’ offers a look at the history of the French and Indian War that is raw, unromanticized and real

 
PRLog - May 4, 2012 - TORONTO, Canada -- Author S. Thomas Bailey has released his latest historical fiction novel, ‘The Gauntlet Runner’. In the tradition of 'Saving Private Ryan', 'Unforgiven', 'The Last of the Mohicans' and 'Spartacus', S. Thomas Bailey captures the raw essence and the harsh realities of the French and Indian War period in his stark depiction of early Colonial America.‘The Gauntlet Runner’ transports readers back to a time when early settlers risked their lives to expand a young, growing nation. The book stays true to the facts and, in doing so, offers a glimpse of George Washington that may surprise some readers.

"Many people are not aware," stated Bailey, "that George Washington, the first President of the United States, held ambitions to become a commissioned officer in the British army.  It was in 1755 colonial America and he was placed on Major-General Edward Braddock's staff as an Aide de Camp, a high honor for a mere colonial.  Liked by Braddock, and understanding that an expected British victory at a planned attack on the French-held Fort Duquesne would lead to his commission, Washington was well on his way to reaching his goal.  There was even speculation that Braddock had a plan for a new British company with Washington as its Major. As fate had it, the British were routed near the Monongahela River, Braddock was killed and any chance of Washington's commission was lost in the vast wilderness. Twenty some years later, Washington would stand face-to-face against the same British army he had once so admired. The same colonist, this time the leader of an army bent on changing the world."

Above all, Bailey’s work is true to life and pulls no punches. ‘The Gauntlet Runner’ tells a tale of fractured lives, broken treaties and the stark realities of the struggles faced by early American settlers as they risked life and limb to cultivate the seed of a new nation.

Bailey is known for writing heart pounding historical fiction, firmly rooted in well-researched historical fact. A recent Reader’s Favorite review stated ‘Bailey is an incredible writer and his long hours of research are evident. I could easily see this plot on the silver screen. I grew up watching Hawkeye, Daniel Boone and Davy Crocket. It is wonderful to read a high quality work of fiction about our country's turbulent history . . .'

S. Thomas Bailey is available for media interviews and can be reached using the information below, or by email at thegauntletrunner1754@yahoo.com. More information is available at his website. ‘The Gauntlet Runner' is available at most online retailers, local bookstores and at the website.

S. Thomas Bailey is an independent researcher of early Colonial life, a raw historian at heart, and a writer of historical fiction by choice.

His sense of history is enriched by a Mi'kmag grandfather and a family tree that can be traced back to the young surveyor, James Cook, who began his career mapping out the St. Lawrence River system during the French and Indian War. He resides in a quiet hamlet north of Toronto, Ontario Canada.

--- End ---

Click to Share

Contact Email:
***@heavenonearthsystem.com Email Verified
Source:S. Thomas Bailey
Location:Toronto - Ontario - Canada
Industry:Books, Government, Lifestyle
Tags:s. thomas bailey, author, the gauntlet runner, historical fiction, best historical fiction, french and indian war
Shortcut:prlog.org/11866918
Verified Account Email Address
Verified Account Phone Number

Disclaimer:   Issuers of the press releases are solely responsible for the content of their press releases. PRLog can't be held liable for the content posted by others.   Report Abuse

Latest Press Releases By “

More...

Trending News...



  1. SiteMap
  2. Privacy Policy
  3. Terms of Service
  4. Copyright Notice
  5. About
  6. Advertise
Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share