1. Latest News
  2. Submit Press Release
British Minigolf Association (BMGA) Logo

Minigolf Report – Lewisham’s James Rutherford wins the 2011 BMGA British Minigolf Championships

Rutherford wins Minigolf ‘Major’ at first attempt

June 27, 2011 - PRLog -- Lewisham’s James ‘The Rocket’ Rutherford won the British Minigolf Association’s 2011 British Championships minigolf tournament at the 18-hole Green Indoor Mini Golf in Hither Green, London on Sunday 26th June.

Competing in a 16-player field Rutherford, won the seven-round, two-day event with a score of 226(-26) after rounds of 32, 29, 35, 32, 33, 34, and 31. Oxford’s Michael Smith was the runner-up, seven shots back on 233(-19). Canterbury’s Marc Chapman was third on 238(-14).

New BMGA British Champion James Rutherford said “It was a tense and exciting weekend of minigolf action, and it was really close right until the end. This is my first full season in minigolf and I am delighted that I have been able to win a major so soon. Saying that, it is the culmination of a lot of hard work. Being my home course I knew I had a chance but to realise that is just a dream come true! I hope this is the first of many.”

The BMGA British Championships was the first Minigolf ‘Major’ of the 2011 BMGA Tour Season and also saw the BMGA British Seniors and BMGA British Juniors Titles contested.

Cambridgeshire’s Tony Kelly won the BMGA British Senior Championships, with a score of 256(+4) and seventh place overall. London’s Alan Norman was runner-up, with 264(+12), and Hither Green’s David Donnelly was third with 287(+35) in the five player field.

In the junior competition, Cambridgeshire’s Adam Kelly retained his BMGA British Juniors title with a score of 238(-14) and fourth place overall. Wandsworth’s Seth Thomas was runner-up, with 254(+2), and Hither Green’s William Donnelly was third with a score of 294(+42) in the four player field.

In other results from the two-day tournament, Seth Thomas won the Category Two competition, with Alan Norman second and Oxford’s Chris Smith third. David Donnelly won the top novice prize and Greenhithe’s Sean Homer won the Aces Championship.

BMGA Chairman Sean Homer said “Thanks to all who took part and to Nick Sandqvist, the course owner, for his ongoing support of the BMGA and for providing a top class venue for the British Championship.”

Full results from the event can be found at http://www.bmga.co.uk/results/2011/bc11/result.htm

Since opening in January 2010 The Green Indoor Mini Golf course has also hosted the BMGA British Club Championships, London Open, Green Open, and the Green Doubles minigolf competitions.

For more information on The Green Indoor Mini Golf course please visit http://www.wix.com/jwr20000/the-green-indoor-mini-golf

For further details about the BMGA and UK Minigolf and Crazy Golf please email mail@minigolf.org.uk, or visit http://www.minigolf.org.uk.

# # #

The BMGA is the governing body for Minigolf Sport, including Crazy Golf and Adventure Golf. Formed in 1998 the BMGA organises Minigolf tournaments for its members across the UK.

--- End ---

Click to Share

Contact Email:
***@minigolf.org.uk Email Verified
Source:British Minigolf Association (BMGA)
Location:United Kingdom
Industry:Event, Sports
Tags:Minigolf, Sport, Golf, Mini Golf, Adventure Golf, Miniature Golf, Crazy Golf, London, Hither Green, Lewisham
Verified Account Email Address
Verified Account Phone Number

Disclaimer:   Issuers of the press releases are solely responsible for the content of their press releases. PRLog can't be held liable for the content posted by others.   Report Abuse

Latest Press Releases By “


Trending News...

Like PRLog?
Click to Share