1. Latest News
  2. Submit Press Release
  1. PR Home
  2. Latest News
  3. Feeds
  4. Alerts
  5. Submit Free Press Release
  6. Journalist Account
  7. PRNewswire Distribution

Ayr Racecourse unveils new Gold and Silver Cup trophies

Bookmakers William Hill are commemorating the 250th anniversary of Robert Burns by commissioning gold and silver trophies for the Ayr Gold and Silver Cups at Ayr Racecourse.

 
PRLog - Sep. 2, 2009 - Ayrshire, Scotland--Bookmakers William Hill, sponsors of the historic Ayr Gold Cup at Ayr Racecourse on September 19, are commemorating this year’s Homecoming celebrations and the 250th anniversary of Robert Burns, by  commissioning a pair of gold and silver trophies for the winning connections of the William Hill (Ayr) Gold and Silver Cups.

Renowned Silversmith Graham Stewart from Dunblane was approached by William Hill chief executive Ralph Topping, himself a resident of the Trossachs, after Topping had seen examples of Grahams work at the Scottish Parliament in Holyrood.

“Homecoming year is very special for Scotland,” said Topping, “and lifting the William Hill Gold Cup is also a very special achievement. So I wanted the winning owners of this great race to take away something quintessentially Scottish this year in celebration. I think Graham has captured the magic of Burns with the two magnificent trophies he has created for us.”

Stewart has hand crafted two Sterling Silver and Gold trophies, each hand-chased with an inscription from Robert Burns himself. Taken from the poem “The Auld Farmer’s New-Year Morning Salutation to his Auld Mare, Maggie,” the words seem appropriate to a horse who has just proved itself to be amongst the fastest in the land.

“That day, ye was a jinker noble,
For heels an’ win’!
An’ ran them till they a’ did wauble,
Far, far, behin’!

For the first time, both the Gold and Silver Cups will be run on the same day this year (Saturday 19 September) with the addition of a William Hill Bronze Cup now the highlight of Ladies Day on Friday 18 September.

In addition to the trophies there will be commemorative mementos for the winning jockeys and trainers, again specially commissioned from Graham Stewart.

The total prize money for the 2009 William Hill Ayr Gold Cup Festival will top £600,000 with the 27 runners in the six-furlong Gold Cup chasing a pot of £150,000, making it Europe’s richest sprint handicap.

Downloadable image available at:

http://www.ayrshirescotlandbusinessnews.com/2009/09/willi...

THE ELITE AYRSHIRE BUSINESS CIRCLE

Ayr Racecourse and the associated Western House Hotel are founder members of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle.

The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle is an association founded in 2007 by some of the top companies in Ayrshire.

Its purpose is to publicise its members, and to celebrate and promote the rich diversity of industry, commerce and business services available within the county boundaries of Ayrshire.

Members include the Clydesdale Bank, Ayr Racecourse, Western House Hotel and South Ayrshire Council. and member company activities include broadcasting, building and construction, architectural practice, estate agency and land management, chartered accountancy, insurance broking, legal services, golf club management, marketing services and brand creation, web design and public relations consultancy.

For further information about The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle and to apply for membership, e-mail eliteayrshire@gmail.com

Website: http://www.eliteayrshire.com

Founder members of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle:

South Ayrshire Council http://www.south-ayrshire.gov.uk
Clydesdale Bank http://www.cbonline.co.uk      
Ayr Racecourse http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk      
Western House Hotel http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk/hotel.html      
CKD Galbraith Property Consultants http://www.ckdgalbraith.co.uk      
Frazer Coogans Solicitors http://www.frazercoogans.co.uk  
Accident & Injury Claims Centre http://www.accidentclaims.com      
MacKay Corporate Insurance Brokers http://www.mackaycorporate-brokers.com      
Donald Ross Estate Agents: http://www.donaldross.co.uk      
William Skinner & Son Building Contractors http://www.williamskinner.co.uk        
Sinclair Scott Chartered Accountants http://www.sinclairscott.com      
Paligap Creative Agency http://www.paligap.com      
ARP Lorimer & Associates Architects http://www.arpl.co.uk      
Brunston Castle Golf Club http://www.brunstoncastle.co.uk      
Visimetrics http://www.visimetrics.com    
Fouters Restaurant http://www.fouters.co.uk    
Christie Financial Planning Ltd http://www.christiefp.com
Allison Lightbody Waddell Chartered Surveyors http://www.alwsurveyors.com
Kestrel Press http://www.kestrelpress.com  
Fame Publicity Services Public Relations Consultancy http://www.famepublicity.co.uk
West Sound Radio http://www.westsound.co.uk
http://www.westfm.co.uk        
Easton Property
Easton Kitchens & Bathrooms

Issued by:

Murdoch MacDonald
Fame Publicity Services
E-mail FamePublicity@gmail.com
Web: http://www.famepublicity.co.uk
http://www.AyrshireScotlandBusinessNews.com
Telephone: 01292 281498
Mobile: 07833 667322

--- End ---

Click to Share

Contact Email:
***@aol.com Email Verified
Source:Fame Publicity Services
Zip:KA7 2AY
State/Province:Ayrshire - Scotland
Industry:Business, Sports
Tags:ayr racecourse, william hill, ayr gold cup, ayr gold cup festival, ayrshire
Shortcut:prlog.org/10329448
Disclaimer:   Issuers of the press releases are solely responsible for the content of their press releases. PRLog can't be held liable for the content posted by others.   Report Abuse

Latest Press Releases By “

More...

Trending News...



  1. SiteMap
  2. Privacy Policy
  3. Terms of Service
  4. Copyright Notice
  5. About
  6. Advertise
Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share